Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Nice quiet hotel

Posted 31/05/2017
Staff polite but not friendly Spacious room but sofa was very uncomfortable as cushions were worn Breakfast buffet was basic and never changed my entire week stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Jersey

Don't Stay Here ! . . . I want it all to myself

Posted 26/05/2017
Pros: The location, the grounds and surrounding parkland with a small cottage tearoom. The friendly staff. The size and location of single rooms.
Cons: Perhaps the choice of Vegetarian food could be better.
Location: It is about 15 minutes to Swindon but I would go north west to the cotswolds and surrounding area such as Cirencester, Stow on the Wold etc.
After a terrible start to my journey with delayed flights, cancelled trains etc, it was wonderful to arrive at the hotel and receive such efficient and courteous service from the night receptionist. My room was perfectly located and although it didn't have the best view, it was large (rare these days for a single room) clean and comfortable with a double bed which is again unusual for a single room. Other guests staying in double rooms also said their rooms were generously appointed. I had booked room only so was surprised that it also included a 'grab and go' breakfast which was a picnic bag with fruit, a cereal bar and croissant and jam. Had I chosen to go for the full english buffet breakfast it was a very reasonable £8.95. Now if its location you are looking for then this is the place for you . . . the Wisteria covered Manor House is stunning and the surrounding grounds and parkland a joy. The herbaceous borders, mature trees and sweeping lawns going down to the lake are just a small part of its beauty. There is a quaint Village Church adjacent and although you will not find a shop or a pub in the nearby village of Stanton Fitzwarren, it makes for a pleasant evening stroll. The hotel boasts a large conservatory, a number of dining rooms and function rooms and the Rosemary and Mt Fuji Japanese restaurants. There is also a small shop selling Japanese groceries. All the hotel staff are welcoming and very helpful. I can wait to return to this delightful location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 13/05/2017
Pros: country setting
Cons: rooms are bland
Friendly staff, fantastic country setting. Beautiful property.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Business hotel for Honda

Posted 29/04/2017
We had a bad first night courtesy of a vibrating toilet flush mechanism. The hotel did fix it for the second night. In general the hotel is the closest to Honda and is aimed at that market with signs, books and menus in Japanese. It is ok but be prepared for this as it is not quite what you would expect from the position and appearance, I.e an old Manor House in elegant gardens.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 05/04/2017
Overall a nice hotel our executive room was comfortable plenty of space my only feeling of the room is it was a little bit dated- cosmetically I feel the room is in need of an uplift, the curtain tie backs were either held on by safety pins or just holes in the fabric, in parts the wall paper is coming off of the walls. The room was tidy and clean. Staff helpful and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from London

Great stay

Posted 04/04/2017
Great hotel, set in peaceful, pleasent, rural surroundings Run by efficient, polite staff Very tasty Japanese food available in the restaurant too
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from K

Stayed here for business use. One night.

Posted 19/03/2017 on Ebookers
Very clean room. Decent sized room for standard double. Bathroom was very spacious. Shower was clean toilet and sinks were all spotless. Nice fresh smelling room. The pillows and duvet smelt fresh unlike other hotels ive stayed have an iffy smell. I always do a smell test. The carpet was very clean. Everything was well looked after. Grab n go breakfast was very nice the bar and the croissant were very tasty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 13/03/2017
Great location and surroundings. Peaceful. Staff friendly and would recommended.
5 out of 5
by Stephen

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 18/02/2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by David

Posted 30/01/2017 on Hotels
The staff at reception made a mistake with my 2 night booking and i ended up having a non functioning key the second night and it seems after paying £110 the breakfast was not included for the 2nd day and i was not informed as they only gave me the receipt for the 1st night. I ended up having no breakfast. The restaurant also had problems and half of the menu quite pricey was not available. Overall not a happy experience due to the incompetence of staff who didn't informed properly leading to mistakes. Rooms big and clean though.