Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Crawley

a Hotel full of nice surprises

Posted 25/04/2016
Pros: restaurant and restaurant prices
Cons: infuriating toilet flush, which didn't seem to work too well
Location: Swindon and Cricklade Railway, Swindon Museum 'Steam'
nice welcome, very easy to check in, easy to use internet with a fairly good and responsive system behind it. I enjoyed the food. I asked for a chicken burger to eat in the restaurant which was one of the best filleted chicken I have ever eaten, plenty of it and all delivered at a keen price. The Japanese restaurant was an interesting aspect of the hotel which demands I go back and revisit one day with my wife, seemed great value too. Hot and cold self service Breakfast is sizeable in choice, no burnt bacon or burnt eggs for that matter as I read elsewhere before leaving for this hotel. Rooms as you would expect, hot water 4 out of 5 I'd say, as I like a bath, not a shower so this is important to me and this was acceptable at peak times. Modern television. easy free parking near the hotel, quiet even late at night. . . smaller matters which can make all the difference when I arrive. beautiful location too - why go anywhere else. . . .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Premier Inn is better!

Posted 16/04/2016
Pros: The Setting & Building was nice
Cons: Food on Buffet was not change all night. Offer all guests the choice of Menu's
Location: Here for Work
On arrival, Receptionist was Happy and 1st impressions was good. I think the Hotel has some association with HONDA as it staffed predominantly by Japanese and is just opposite the Honda plant. The room was clean and tidy along with the bathroom. Quite small by ok. In Terms of a Hotel it felt more like a Travel lodge and when I asked about the restaurant availability for English Cuisine I was told it was a Japanese buffet restaurant which I proceeded to dine in. The food on the buffet was ok however the dishes ordered fresh to the table were much better. I then noticed other Guests were getting English food bought out to them from the kitchen which were not made available to me. Not really impressed where I wasn't given the option on cuisine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Ok - potential for better

Posted 11/11/2015 on Hotels
Hotel is owned by Honda (plant down the road) so full of Japanese and with Japanses retaurant. Staff friendly enough but couldn't advice much on where to go locally for pub dinner with family. On third attempt was given list of postcodes of pubs. Nice room but when moved couch to make space for travel cot found food under/behind. NB despite requesting cot this was not provided and breakfast included is a simple bag of pastry and coffee (unless you pay additional)
3 out of 5
by Patrick from Glasgow

Picturesque, but tired

Posted 02/11/2015 on Hotels
Hotel setting and grounds are very picturesque, however in-room entertainment was very poor. I was checked in for a two week stay on Business and tried to stay in the room as little as possible. It's ok for a one night stay, but I wouldn't recommend any longer. TV picture and range of channels is very poor and although there is in room broadband, don't expect to be able to stream any movies (it slows down to a crawl during the evening). During my stay, the broadband ceased to work on a Friday night (I complained) and it took them 4 days to sort it. Apparently I could have used the wired broadband in a lobby area during this time, but the area looked dark and lacked seating. In my case no good anyway as I didn't have an Ethernet cable (which I explained), however hotel obviously don't have any either as they never offered. Hotel is generally a bit dark and rather tired and although my room was small (single), it was clean and not so tired as the rest of the hotel. I didn't use the restaurant, so can't comment on the food. I've booked into another hotel for my next two week stay. Much more expensive, but hopefully better wifi and TV (essential for me). Would have appreciated at least an apology on check out, but nothing was said and nor was I asked how I enjoyed my stay. Overall, rather disappointing.
3 out of 5
by John

Stayed before...but not again!

Posted 30/10/2015 on Hotels
Hotel is fine, location is ideal and having stayed here before, I was happy to book again...however, until this hotel trains their staff to have some manners, I won't bother. I know that there have been previous comments about staff, but in the past I've had no issues. The person who "welcomed" me last night, was very poor though.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 26/10/2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Eric from Poole

Excellent stay

Posted 21/10/2015 on Hotels
Conveniently located in a rural location and easily accessible from the M4. Hotel is in an old manor in a large country park near a lake. My room was in the main building, with all basic facilities including tea/coffee. Large bathroom. Very quiet location. Only downside is the lack of phone signal in the room. Weak signal in somepart of the building and outside. Overall a very good weekend stay at a very good price.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Moreton-in-Marsh

Sugoi!

Posted 07/10/2015
Excellent hotel in a marvellous setting. We had a lovely room booked for a 25th Wedding Anniversary lunch overlooking the terrace and the food and friendly service from hotel staff was of a very high standard. Our room was made available earlier than the official check in time by the hotel reception and was very well appointed and comfortable. We also had dinner in the restaurant which has a Japanese orientated menu. Again the authentic food was excellent and reminded us of several years spent in Japan. The staff in all departments could not do more to help make our stay enjoyable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Wisconsin, USA

Nice grounds, but rooms are not worth the price.

Posted 04/10/2015
Pros: The hotel staff are very nice, professional. The grounds are beautiful.
Cons: Maintenance
Location: There are several noisy pubs, a short drive away. Stonehenge and Bath are a tolerable drive away.
We stayed in an Executive Double room for 2 nights. The toilet began running loudly at 5 AM. We put up with it and finally went to breakfast, after which 2 staff were sent to look at it. The problem, they explained, is that I should jiggle the handle this way and not that way. And it worked. Soon after they left, the water began running again. By the time we returned from Stonehenge, it had stopped, only to start up again in the night. Again, a staffer showed me a combination of moves the seemed to work...but not for long. The problem - all the components were limed up. This was probably why the shower on/off controller was stuck in mid-position. Then I began to notice that most of the hall walls were ripped from frequent contact with the cleaning crew carts. Really, the only distinction that gave the room Executive status was the imitation 4-post bed.
4 out of 5
by colin from London

Posted 18/09/2015 on Hotels
TV picture quality was poor with only limited channels. Price was very high for room only at a weekend. No facility for parking suitcases. This hotel caters mainly for Japanese clients, presumably for staff and visitors to the nearby Honda plant. Free WiFi was good. The surroundings are excellent.