Ratings based on 409 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 22/09/2017
Pros: Price on a Sunday nght. It was near to Birmingham airport for midday flight next day.
Cons: Breakfast - very lacklustre. Staff only picked up 1 waterjug at a time to refill - so constantly doing so, and slowly!
Adequate room for overnight stay. In 90s used to stay there maybe 3 nights a week when on business in Solihull so many changes. General atmosphere was 'slow'. Needs a good boot somewhere to instill some spark in staff for a start. polite and efficient but often seemed to be working on auto pilot? The price was excelelnt for a Sunday night but would not pay full/normal price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Buckinghamshire

The room was cold

Posted 18/09/2017
The room heating was so poor we had to use a separate portable electric heater. The air conditioning units mounted on the roof were Noisy and sent vibrations through the room throughout the night. Toilet door wouldn't close, the door jam was so badly fitted. Breakfast was ok, but Luke warm and the coffee was so dire I couldn't drink it. Would not recommend it, despite how neat and tidy it looks like at Reception the rest of the hotel is showing it's age. Reception booking in took ages, rather disorganised
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from birmingham

3 of 3 times there was always something wrong

Posted 23/08/2017
Stayed there 3 times First time they gave me a room card and another person was already in the room...that was akward Second time air con made so much noise and the telly was broken third time my double bed was 2singles pushed together on a double base so the mattress was hanging off the side...spoke to staff (who are lovley btw) and changed rooms....the towels were dirty and the bedsheets had dried blood on them but I didn't see it till the morning after I moved the duvet cover safe to say I will NEVER stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Staffordshire

Great hotel

Posted 20/08/2017
Nice comfortable hotel stay in quiet location given the short distance to the airport. Minamal driving distance to the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Norwich

I just like it here.....

Posted 18/08/2017
Pros: It is comfortable and feels nice. What more could you need?
Location: Perfect for Solihull Town. Bars and shops and easy to get into Birmingham.
I use this place when visiting my old home town and this is situated perfectly in Solihull. There's a few bits of the room that feel a bit tired but this doesn't detract from the fact that it is just a nice, comfortable and very pleasant hotel with friendly helpful staff. It is, genuinely, just a nice place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Detroit MI USA

Would recommend - have stayed multiple times

Posted 28/07/2017
Pros: privacy and rooms were always quiet at night, pool is very nice too
Cons: nothing - all was great
Location: Touchwood mall nearby and several pubs
Close to shopping and restaurants, clean and comfortable rooms. Staff friendly and helpful. Thanks for the great service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from UK

Central.

Posted 10/07/2017
Pros: Central. Cheerful staff, even late at night. Quick check in.
Cons: Nothing they can do about the creaking floorboards and zero sound proofing between floors. Strangely undercooked yet crisp bacon.
Location: Central. It's Solihull.
Working in Solihull with an early start, travelling from Manchester, so rather than a mind achingly early morning drive and a good chance of hitting traffic regardless (road works on two exits) decided to travel late the night before. Traffic still slow at 10.30 pm, with two accidents (on opposite carriageway). Arrived gone midnight.
4 out of 5
by Scott

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 23/06/2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Margaret

Recommended and First Rate

Posted 05/06/2017 on Hotels
I would like to say that we had a fantastic stay. Staff were very nice and helpful. Pool area first rate and very clean. Room was gorgeous, comfortable and a generous size. Breakfast was first rate and very very enjoyable. Only criticism was that the bar was a bit expensive. Two G&T's nearly £12. But that didn't spoil anything at all. Will book again when next in the area, highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by William

St Johns Hotel Solihull. Great place to stay!!

Posted 28/05/2017 on Hotels
The hotel and the staff were extremely friendly. If the opportunity arises again to visit the area I'd stay there without a doubt!!