Ratings based on 215 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia-Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Good and bad

Posted 17 Feb. 2020 on Hotels
The location is great and the facilities good too. The manager was friendly and helpful but that was it.. the staff didn't seemed interested when I tried to clarify things. I stayed in a six bed dorm... It wasn't big enough for six people. It should really only be a 4 bed. Only 2 people could be on the floor at once and that was a squeeze.
Comment from Hotel Management
5 Mar. 2020 by Aoife, Hotel Management
Kia ora, Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We are looking to improve the layout of the dorms so guests can have more space in their rooms. Kind regards Aoife Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller from USA

Posted 31 Jan. 2020 on Orbitz
Good value for basic accommodations. Kitchen was well equipped and stocked with cooking essentials (plates, cups, flatware, etc). Walking distance to town core.
Comment from Hotel Management
3 Feb. 2020 by Colette, Hotel Management
Thanks for your great feedback - we are pleased you had a good time!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 31 Jan. 2020
Stayed in 6 bed mixed room for 4 nights. I requested a lower bunk due to hurting my back which was granted but after having to really make a case over a telephone call, almost beg and assure them i wasn't lying. The allocated bed had a curtain with white stains a bit like sick or something so I took another bed. The bed I took had hairs on the black duvet cover and also the curtain rail hooks had come off. I asked reception to rectify which they did. Lady at check in was friendly and apologised. As we had window open in room to avoid smells I was cold and next morning asked another reception lady for a blanket to which they said I could use the communal lounging blankets. I asked when if it was clean and said once a week. I decided not to take one due to hygiene reasons and the receptionist offered no other alternative to assist me to feel comfortable and not cold. Asked the same receptionist for bus times for arrow town and was misinformed. The bed locker lock was damaged although working, but had to be pushed hard into place to lock and made noise. Personally I found bed and bedding uncomfortable. The bathrooms were clean with good shower pressure. Bathrooms on ground floor smelled of damp. Bathroom on first floor near lounge didn't. Kitchen was clean other than food storage boxes being dirty and mouldy, male staff washed one for me to use. Lounge looked comfortable. Nice outdoor seating. Two staff helpful, two not. It's ok for somewhere to sleep in expensive Queenstown
Comment from Hotel Management
10 Mar. 2020 by Reception, Hotel Management
Kia ora Rupa, Thank you for your review, I apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We had been receiving lower bunk requests from you from the time you made your booking almost 6 months prior, we had informed you then that whilst we cannot guarantee it, we would do our best. The lounge blankets were cleaned on the day you asked us for one. I apologise for the curtain rail and curtain not being to standard, these have since been fixed. Our staff are always happy to help, and we would never give incorrect information on purpose, unfortunately this time, the information given was inaccurate. I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Kind regards Haka Lodge Queenstown
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Tasmania

Posted 26 Jan. 2020 on Wotif
Great place to stay. Clean, well run, close to centre, and friendly and helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
3 Feb. 2020 by Colette, Hotel Management
Thanks for your great rating and feedback!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 7 Jan. 2020
The property was great. Staff was nice and accommodating. Everything was clean, the bunks were private and had curtains. The only thing was that there was no dish soap in the kitchen. Could have been an over site. Overall a lovely hostel.
Comment from Hotel Management
3 Feb. 2020 by Colette, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us! We are pleased you had a good time - I trust the team were able to assist with the lack of soap in the kitchen.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Prague

Posted 3 Jan. 2020
We booked the apartment and were amazed how large it was. It was very spacious, nice terrace, all clean and kitchen well equiped.
Comment from Hotel Management
3 Feb. 2020 by Colette, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback - we are so happy you had a good stay in the apartment!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 7 Dec. 2019 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
3 Feb. 2020 by Colette, Hotel Management
Thanks for your fantastic rating!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from UK

Posted 23 Nov. 2019
Great location. The kitchen is well equipped. Nice balcony for enjoying meals.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

5star

Posted 8 Aug. 2019 on Hotels
As usual, 5 star with the best hostel manager greeting you at desk. Always a pleasure to stay here
Comment from Hotel Management
8 Aug. 2019 by Aoife, Hotel Management
Kia ora David, Lovely to have you staying with us again, hopefully we see you again soon :) Kind regards Aoife Lodge Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 1 Aug. 2019