Ratings based on 348 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Taunton

St Johns Hotel Very Good

Posted 15/07/2016
Pros: Staff were excellent and food very good.
Cons: Lumpy and well worn mattress in room 428. Bathrooms could do with a refurbish in rooms 424 & 428
Location: Great for NEC, Airport and Motorcycle Museum.
Hotel well placed for our visit to the Motorcycle Museum. Very busy with functions which closed the restaurant for the two evenings of our stay, however bar food and service was very good and the functions didn't interfere with our enjoyment. Would definitely use again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller from worcester

our stay

Posted 24/06/2016
Pros: Falacites on offer
Cons: As we only spent one night i feel i cannot give you a true reflection of the hotel but i again say please make sure the rooms are well aired prior
Location: excellent for Sollihul town center and transport
situation excellent rooms tidy and clean alas stale smell when we entered the room so not so good but the hotel and staff very good and our stay was good so all in all 8 out of ten !!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 01/06/2016
Cons: Be careful of the hidden extra charges for IN ROOM service - they are unreasonable!
Tired and dated building, grout missing from floor tiles in bathroom, cold rooms and heating switched off, unreasonable hidden charges added to room service orders - On the plus side, the staff were lovely.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from High Wycombe

Not 4 star in a million years

Posted 27/05/2016
Pros: proximity to concert venue
Cons: too much to list but would start with developing a customer service driven operation and updating the room decor and furnshings.
Location: Easy to get into and out of Birmingham. Close to a small shopping area and a few eateries and pubs.
My wife and I stayed one night for a Jools Holland concert nearby. Requested a room change due to broken wardrobe doors (after maintenance said they had fixed the problem but apparently only with fairy dust). In the second room the remote for TV did not work. Both simple things but easily fixable if you are customer service focused. Food was over priced although fairly tasty dinner before going to concert (£30+ for Aberdeen Angus burger and cheese Ploughmans with x2 soft drinks). We were told if we wanted breakfast then we should let the reception know by 11pm the evening before as this would be £10 each. After this we would be charged £14.50 each!? Why on Earth the price goes up is a mystery - still, the O'Neills across the road are doing great business because of it. Fitness suite tired with some minor damage to equipment and has clearly not been given much attention in the last decade (professional opinion). It appears that the hotel may be basing its business on the corporate market but their advertising indicates that it is a luxury hotel. From our point of view the hotel falls far short of luxury. Staff asked about our stay and we politely made clear that it did not meet expectations. No attempt to investigate why.
2 out of 5
by Janette from Reading

Dated hotel in need of a refurb

Posted 25/04/2016 on Hotels
Hotel was far too warm and needs to use air conditioning. Really not sure about the pricing, I was charged £20 on my room rate for breakfast yet in the restaurant is was priced at £14.95. The hotel is very tired and needs a refurb. The staff were friendly though
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Not really what your looking for

Posted 20/04/2016 on Hotels
Room very small, view was of air conditioning units, with a bowl of sick outside of our window! Breakfast was awful, would not stay again, overpriced. Stayed last year in a family room, which was great, we left early so missed breakfast thankfully!
3 out of 5
by keith from London

KW Solihull

Posted 18/04/2016 on Hotels
Only stayed one night but having clumps of hair stuck to the plug hole in the bath did not impress me I am afraid. it served its purpose but would look elsewhere if I stayed in Solihull again.
3 out of 5
by Peter

Posted 18/04/2016 on Hotels
The hotel rooms need a make over
5 out of 5
by David R

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 11/04/2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 07/04/2016 on Hotels
one night stay. attended wedding reception at the hotel. good atmosphere and service.