Ratings based on 275 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 25/07/2015
Booked a superior room at very reasonable rate (£68 room only as against £50 for a standard) as I had heard some of standard rooms might be a little tired. I was very impressed by the size and quality of the room pleasantly located overlooking the hotel garden, and in terms of facilities was pleased to find it had an iron/ ironing board. I feel that given the price my room was a bargain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveller

Posted 12/07/2015
Pros: Staff are excellent. Extremely helpful and can't do enough for you.
Bedroom was fine. Clean, comfortable and had everything you needed. Good shower. Air conditioning was a bit noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Nice hotel, bar prices are ridiculous though.

Posted 12/07/2015
Overall nice enough hotel. The carpets in the rooms completely ruin the hotel. Location was good, bar prices where an absolute joke. I would stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from derbyshire

One night stay

Posted 05/07/2015
We staying for one night only and found the St Johns Hotel friendly and just what we expected, and would recommend it to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by patrick

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 31/05/2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by Guy from Whitley Bay

Business stay

Posted 30/05/2015 on Hotels
Room was tidy and comfortable but bathroom was looking tired and needs updating, also no toilet roll provided until requested for it, not great!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by A verified traveller

Disappointing for a Prinicpal Haley Hotel

Posted 24/05/2015 on Hotels
I have stayed in PH Hotels previously and was surprised how "tired" this one was. My bedroom was large but there was a pervading smell of damp that hit you as soon as you walked in the room. This appeared to emanate from a large established crack in the shower head which ran water down and through the tile when in use. It is disappointing that this hotel felt it acceptable to lease a room with this fault and smell. It would have been impossible for housekeeping to miss the smell or the sight of the crack. Tired after a very long day I decided to open a window, and put up with the room rather than try and argue for another one. The bed was comfortable, although pillows were flat and past their best so needed several to get to a single height. As the hotel is close to the town I decided eat out. Check in staff were courteous and efficient. Workshops appear to be main source of revenue so ground floor areas appear to be maintained to higher standard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by Rachel from High Peak

What you would expect for the price

Posted 13/05/2015 on Hotels
The Hotel is super convenient for the town centre. It is clean and comfortable and is reasonably well looked after. The restaurant and room service is expensive. Whilst I wouldn't recommend the bar/room service menu, the restaurant food is lovely. Saying that, there are plenty of places in town to eat too. Staff can be a little on the slow side as they are very busy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveller

Great hotel

Posted 12/05/2015 on Hotels
Great hotel and facilities for the price paid. Only negative is that the Reception service was a little slow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from London

Weekend stay

Posted 11/05/2015 on Hotels
We visit Solihull regularly to visit family and favour this hotel because it is in a central location, it has a good leisure suite and pool which we like to use, staff are friendly and efficient and overall it offers good value for money.