Ratings based on 2,124 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

room 5 c block B

Posted 17/05/2016
Pros: the beds were ok
Cons: a complete refit
Location: handy location
the main room was clean but looking tired a couch if it can be called a couch was well passed its sell by date the bedrooms are small but adequate and clean missing a door handle the bathroom was very shabby dirty shower curtain broken tiles dirty drain in need of a refit very noisy even on the 5th floor and stepping in vomit out side the front door at 9 am did not help
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Whangarei NZ

Hotel was ok very central and easy to find

Posted 16/05/2016
Cons: Beds need to be replaced, Couch needs to be replaced, carpet needs to be replaced
Hotel was alright it had everything you need to have a comfortable stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Napier

Not for me

Posted 02/05/2016
Pros: Close to upper queen st restaurants
Cons: WiFi - it was so slow I switched to using my phone as a hotspot
Location: Just off upper Queen street. Easy walk to central city and skybus terminal.
Not really my scene - it looked OK in the photos but it's a student apartment complex with all the associated issues - dirty lifts, hallways, loud drunken partying on balconies (on a Monday night). Wasn't even very cheap, so I can't see where the value is. Good stuff: Friendly staff, close to upper queen st restaurants, clean (inside the room) Bad stuff Noisy neighbours, small room, short bed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 25/04/2016
Pros: Not a lot
Cons: see above
The room was well laid out but the bed was as hard as a rock and the couch was way too low. The room was a bit battered, perhaps a bit tired.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Christchurch

Very central to everything

Posted 25/04/2016
Pros: Very central to most things we wanted to do
Cons: Carparking not always available,
Very helpful service counter staff, very obliging
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Sydeney

Nice and comfortable hotel right in the heart of t

Posted 25/04/2016
Pros: Good customer support, facilities, location, fast Wi-Fi etc.
Cons: I don't see any thing at this stage. But generally I would advise them to improve further and keep the standards going forward.
Location: location is fantastic! Close to Transport, Downtown, Sky tower Restaurants etc. This hotel suits my taste. and would like to go again and again.
Hotel is neat and comfortable. Room Service is very good. They change the towels every day and the linen every alternate day - very neat and tidy. Due to some technical faults, the telephone in the room was not working and the Hotel manager and Maintenance Manager apologized for the inconvenience and it was fixed subsequently. I love to go there again and again. This was my 2nd stay in this hotel and I will be going again in October.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Auckland NZ

Cheap and close to the CBD Auckland.

Posted 17/04/2016
Pros: It was handy to our function.
Cons: Nothing it is what it is - cheap accomodation
Location: The location is very handy to Queen Street, a short walk to the CBD and amenities.
Very hard to find, even with GSP and phoning the Reception - ended up walking up and down the street. A burst pipe in the ceiling outside our room at 5am ensured a very early start to our day. The room was spacious however the shower not so. Its a good and handy place to stay if you are looking for cheap. We paid an extra $25 to leave the car in the carparking till after 3pm the day of check out.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Very basic, ok for a short stay

Posted 16/04/2016
The rooms are a decent size and have everything you would want. Clean and tidy. Very basic but inline with the price. The building is very run down and not the best elevator (rattles and felt tired) if you are from an earthquake city. I arrived late in the evening and its location was not only limited for food but you are down a dark road that's fairly deserted. Housekeeping come every three days you are told when you sign in. Internet requires you sign every piece of personal info you have before it allows you to login - I would recommend against for security.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from whangarei

disappointing

Posted 16/04/2016
Pros: great location
Cons: Surfaces and furnishings need regular cleaning
Location: very central
Rooms very average. Windows filthy, curtains dusty. Beds very hard, although linen was clean. Hotel staff friendly. Could not connect to free wifi.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Seattle, Wa

Not the place to stay

Posted 12/03/2016
This is not a hotel, more like a extended stay with no services. Very small lobby area, no room service, no restaurant on location, and the staff refused to help the guest at every turn. Ended up checking out and going to the Scenic Hotel, a true hotel with actual service.