Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by joe from liverpool

Comfy beds

Posted 12/12/2013 on Hotels.com
Second time here nice and quiet, good food would stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Geoff from Bedworth

Overnight stay

Posted 26/10/2013
Pros: The building, views and very nice welcome like staying in a National Trust property
Cons: Soft mattress on bed
Location: Lovely area. Building and surrounding grounds wonderful.
Only stayed on room basis so cannot comment on food although the options looked extremely good. Lovely bedroom, mattress in need of replacement.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Beautiful building, excellent location....BUT

Posted 18/10/2013
Reception staff were uninterested, disengaged and verging on rude. Curt replies when asked for advice did not leave us or other guests we observed with a good feeling. Room for much improvement in customer service skills. Room was dated, clean but not immaculate. Bathroom was particularly mouldy, shower head had limescale, lavatory handle needed replacing. TV was ancient and remote control dirty. We stayed in Room 302 having driven 12hrs from Morayshire in the Scottish Highlands as we moved house. Had we not been so tired and busy we would have checked out. On a positive note, the bed was comfy, linen was clean (old, but clean), hotel and grounds are lovely. It could be so much nicer. We won't return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by Vikesh from Southampton

Issue with the mobile signals

Posted 08/09/2013 on Hotels.com
My overall stay was fine but I have faced issues with the mobile signals. Within the room or hotel area, you will struggle to get the mobile signals & to get the signals you have to go outside of the hotel... this is really weird.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by Colin from Yorkshire

Nice hotel with a Japanese touch

Posted 07/09/2013
Pros: it's a pleasure to find somewhere serving good Japanese food at a reasonable price
Cons: They really need to sort out their Internet access - the Wi-Fi is very patchy, and I found that more than one computer simply wouldn't connect to it.
Location: Don't be put off by it being in Swindon - the grounds and adjoining park are beautiful, and the Cotswolds are a very short drive away.
I've stayed here several times for work reasons. The setting is beautiful and the staff are friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by Colin from Yorkshire

Nice hotel with a Japanese touch

Posted 07/09/2013
Pros: it's a pleasure to find somewhere serving good Japanese food at a reasonable price
Cons: They really need to sort out their Internet access - the Wi-Fi is very patchy, and I found that more than one computer simply wouldn't connect to it.
Location: Don't be put off by it being in Swindon - the grounds and adjoining park are beautiful, and the Cotswolds are a very short drive away.
I've stayed here several times for work reasons. The setting is beautiful and the staff are friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by A verified traveller

Business Trip

Posted 06/09/2013
Pros: Very pleasant and helpful staff, good choice of English and Japanese food. Very quiet location
Nice hotel, set in serene location. Good Japanese food
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matthew from N E Essex

Wind up here to wind down.

Posted 16/08/2013
Pros: Surroundings
Cons: Couldn't lock door from inside just had security chain
Location: 20 mins outside Swindon backing onto a country park.
A two night business trip stay, room clean and functional. Dined in the Rosemary restaurant which although had a fairly limited menu was excellently produced and presented. Lovely building and grounds, very peaceful. Have rebooked for next week.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveller

Sufficient.

Posted 04/08/2013 on Hotels.com
The main photo is from the BACK of the hotel, it's not terribly lovely from the front. It's outdated, but clean. No air conditioning. Easy/accessible/plentiful FREE parking. Also very Japanese-friendly (info in Japanese, some Japanese staff, Japanese restaurant), so that may be a bonus to some.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by Richard from Tonbridge Audi

Audi Review

Posted 24/06/2013 on Hotels.com
the hotel was clean and a great location thanks