Ratings based on 240 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 25/02/2015
Great value for the money as you are in a very central location. Minutes to the market and shopping, museums.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Beijing

Good location, nice hotel

Posted 25/02/2015
Pros: Clean, spacious rooms, outstanding breakfast.
Cons: The staff was not particularly helpful, although certainly polite. In other hotels, I was helped with booking transportation, tours, etc.
The hotel is a few minutes walk from the Ben Thanh market. Plenty of places to eat, have coffee, shop...
1 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom paris

Lit dur comme bois, vue sur mur, personnel affreux

Posted 22/02/2015
Pros: La salle de bain
Cons: Le personnel, le lit, le petit dej
Location: Cho ben thanh, a 5 mn et a 10mn du centre vincom, 15mn de lopera a pied
Hotel absurde, 4 hotels en 1, avec plusieurs comptoirs, decoration laide, petit dejeuner mediocre sans jus ni choix, impossible d avoir une table propre, une dizaine d employes qui se promenent les mains vides et ne debarassent pas les tables. Le personnel nest pas sympathique.Les gens fument dans les couloirs. Navette pr laeroport hors de prix, par personne au lieu de par vehicule. Taxis bien moins chers. Lit vraiment inconfortable, matelas dur, fenetre qui donne sur un mur a moins dun metre. sdb correcte. Quartier anime a 5mn du grand marche ben thanh. Hotel bien trop cher pr ce qu il propose, en comparaison avec la competition. La qualite nest pas au rendez vous!!! Grosse deception, cherchez ailleurs...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

A hotel with many names

Posted 12/02/2015
Pros: The location is good for tourism.
Cons: The attitude of the staff.
Location: The central market and backpacker area.
I'll try to keep this short. This hotel set up is quite confusing. It is attached to another building which has a sign for Hotel Alagon and therefore there are two lobbies with two reception counters - not sure why this couldn't have been streamlined. The hotel staff are obviously not fit for the hospitality industry and no one was hospitable. From the moment we arrived, the reception staff were cold and unfriendly. After check in, we followed a staff helping us with our luggages to the elevator. The elevator was really only fit for 4 people at the most, but when it stopped at a floor, 3 more hotel staff who were on their breaks insisted on cramming into our elevator. I have never experienced this type of unprofessional behavior at a hotel. As a result, we were crammed inside a 3sqm with 6 people and 3 bags. Now, the rooms were fine...small..but fine. The only redeeming act was the breakfast box they packed for our early flight. Bottom line - for the same price, there are plenty of newer and better managed hotels in the City. In fact, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sonnet Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Wonderful

Posted 12/02/2015
Pros: Clean, Accessible
Cons: haven't tried the breakfast as we have to leave early to catch our flight, so i do not have comment on the food
Location: very near ben thanh for shopping and eating
Had a very good experience although overnight stay only. The room is very clean and nice, near to the shopping center/area with free wifi
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom San Francisco, CA

Very well located in District 1

Posted 27/01/2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness, staff
Cons: The bathrooms are outdated. There are very large baths, with hand held showers but no overhead showers, which I much prefer.
Location: One of the major markets is 3 blocks away, one of the larger parks is 2 blocks away. Close to museums and nightlife.
This hotel is well staffed, clean and comfortable and very well located in the center of District 1, across the street from the New World Hotel - at roughly 60% of the cost. The rooms need upgrading but are comfortable. WiFi is reliable and fast, breakfast is fine; but, nothing is luxurious. If you want a 5 star experience in this location, then go to the New World Hotel. In other well located places, for 5 star, I recommend the Sofitel Hotel. But, for a quick romp around HCM City at a reasonably affordable rate, I recommend the Hoang Hai Long hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Great location

Posted 15/01/2015
Terrific location only minutes away from the markets and all your shopping need. Staff are very helpful in booking tours and transport around the city or to the airport. Room size is a little on the smaller size but enough for a couple. Enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom australia

Clean comfortable Hotel with good location

Posted 13/01/2015
Very friendly staff, clean rooms, reasonable price. Can't complain with free breakfast buffet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Birmingham, AL, USA

Excellent hotel in heart of District 1

Posted 26/12/2014
Pros: The staff greet you at the door and seem to have your safety in mind.
Cons: The rooms are a little small for the price. A little more expensive, commensurate with its higher star rating.
Location: All the District 1 activities most people want to kdo are within walking distance. Motortaxis (xe om) are immediately available outisde the hotel, as
This hotel has an excellent staff, good restaurant, and nice rooms. I was particularly impressed by the complimentary breakfast: Very large selection of excellent foods, from American to Vietnamese, with fruit, omlettes to order, to noodle dishes, and a variety of fruit drinks. All you can eat. The rooms have AC, a bathtub in addition to shower, and good bed. It also has a safe in the room--which I really like, esp. if one has visitors. The internet works well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Great hotel

Posted 24/12/2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Soundproofing shall be improved; the room is very noisy because of the traffic.
Location: It is in the city center, and with a cab everything is reachable in short time (depending on traffic, of course ;)
I was in this hotel for 1 week. I think this hotel is probably to be rated 4* and not 3*. The only bad point is that it is in the city center and the room is really noisy because of the traffic, at all times, day and night. Breakfast is amazingly rich.