Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by N from United States

Amazing hotel, rooms need a major update

Posted 07/01/2014 on Hotels.com
This is truly a beautiful hotel and they have spent a lot of work making sure it looks immaculate. The staff are very attentive and friendly, we had a great time chatting to the gentlemen managing the bar before we went to dinner. The concierge was incredibly helpful, but did set up a dinner for us that was extremely expensive (we didn't know this until the bill came - no prices on the menu she suggested). The room we were in needed a major update. It had some definite wear and tear and it smelled like a sewer which was really unpleasant. The water in the pipes ran the whole night and day even when our water was turned off so the room was noisy all night. Room service food was pretty good. Location has great views but is about 30 min from the Medina and not safe to walk around at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Venice Italy and Ulster

Historic hotel w fabulous garden in historic Fes

Posted 22/12/2013
Pros: The traditional Moroccan decor, but especially the garden, both planting and fountain design
Cons: Please better reading lights by the bed
Location: Endless opportunities for exploring the mediaeval Medina, seeing craftsmen at work in leather, brass, jewelry and textiles w little mass tourism
Unique hotel in the heart of the bustling, picturesque Medina of Fes, a city virtually unchanged in atmosphere since the middle ages. The beautifully maintained exotic hotel garden with tile paved paths and gurgling fountains a perfect refuge from the heady atmosphere and lively picturesque streets of the surrounding town. The architecture of the XIIIc Medersas or Koran schools worth the trip in itself. The traditional Moroccan restaurant in the hotel the best in all Fes while pool side lunches and the international restaurant excellent . The staff warm and friendly. Everything spotlessly clean and functioning. Wld willingly return on an annual basis for what seemed a unique experience. My wife who had stayed here precisely fifty years earlier was as enthusiastic as I about every aspect of our week long holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Molly from NY

Posted 05/11/2013 on Hotels.com
Gorgeous hotel right near the medina! As it was a former palace, the old-world charm and elegance has strongly been maintained.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sammy

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 18/08/2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by ALM from So Cal

Posted 17/08/2013 on Hotels.com
Great hotel. Wifi was spotty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by David from New Haven

Posted 01/07/2013 on Hotels.com
The Sofitel Fès Palais Jamaï provided a thoroughly beautiful base for touring Fes. Located within the medina itself, it is a very good option -- providing an (albeit imperfect) grand hotel experience, at what, in my case, was a good price. Service is a bit inconsistent -- one concierge member is helpful, another less so; one bellman tried, I believe, to have me exchange currency for him; and, most nettlesome of all, some reception desk staffers and others speak a poor English. The gym is somewhat small (and warm), though complemented by a lovely indoor jacuzzi. But decor in the hotel reflects the quintessential Moroccan style; the outdoor pool and grounds are quite nice; and, above all, the rooms are spacious and elegant. The hotel balcony offers a great view of the Fes medina; while many pursue medina-view rooms, I actually appreciated a room facing the beautiful hills and medina ramparts on the other side, with large balcony. The room itself, as well, was spacious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sidy

Nice hotel and close to the zawiya

Posted 06/05/2013
Pros: The front desk agents are very professional and helpful. The food in the Morrocan restaurant is great.
Cons: the cleaniness
Enjoyed my stay in that hotel.will definately go back next time i visit FES.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 18/03/2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveller

Beautiful classic

Posted 17/10/2012 on Hotels.com
We absolutely loved our stay at the Palais Jamai from the moment we walked in...guests are received with the utmost hospitality, and even when we requested late checkout, the response was "Of course, you deserve it." My only minor complaint is that the bar staff was a bit slow and inattentive, but the hotel was incredibly empty and they seemed understaffed, so I can forgive it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveller

Great service and the softest bed!

Posted 26/08/2012 on Hotels.com
I really loved staying here for two days during my two week vacation to Morocco. The bed was so nice and comfy that I didn't want to leave! The food at the restaurant was great and the restaurant staff was amazing especially Hasan...thank you! The manager was also very welcoming to all guests and made everyone feel at ease which is important to me.