Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Venice Italy and Ulster

Historic hotel w fabulous garden in historic Fes

Posted 22/12/2013
Pros: The traditional Moroccan decor, but especially the garden, both planting and fountain design
Cons: Please better reading lights by the bed
Location: Endless opportunities for exploring the mediaeval Medina, seeing craftsmen at work in leather, brass, jewelry and textiles w little mass tourism
Unique hotel in the heart of the bustling, picturesque Medina of Fes, a city virtually unchanged in atmosphere since the middle ages. The beautifully maintained exotic hotel garden with tile paved paths and gurgling fountains a perfect refuge from the heady atmosphere and lively picturesque streets of the surrounding town. The architecture of the XIIIc Medersas or Koran schools worth the trip in itself. The traditional Moroccan restaurant in the hotel the best in all Fes while pool side lunches and the international restaurant excellent . The staff warm and friendly. Everything spotlessly clean and functioning. Wld willingly return on an annual basis for what seemed a unique experience. My wife who had stayed here precisely fifty years earlier was as enthusiastic as I about every aspect of our week long holiday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sidy

Nice hotel and close to the zawiya

Posted 06/05/2013
Pros: The front desk agents are very professional and helpful. The food in the Morrocan restaurant is great.
Cons: the cleaniness
Enjoyed my stay in that hotel.will definately go back next time i visit FES.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 18/03/2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveller

Beautiful classic

Posted 17/10/2012 on Hotels.com
We absolutely loved our stay at the Palais Jamai from the moment we walked in...guests are received with the utmost hospitality, and even when we requested late checkout, the response was "Of course, you deserve it." My only minor complaint is that the bar staff was a bit slow and inattentive, but the hotel was incredibly empty and they seemed understaffed, so I can forgive it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveller

Great service and the softest bed!

Posted 26/08/2012 on Hotels.com
I really loved staying here for two days during my two week vacation to Morocco. The bed was so nice and comfy that I didn't want to leave! The food at the restaurant was great and the restaurant staff was amazing especially Hasan...thank you! The manager was also very welcoming to all guests and made everyone feel at ease which is important to me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lynn from Washington DC

Lovely Hotel

Posted 30/07/2012
Pros: Views, staff, food & local wine, ambiance.
Cons: Need for some renovations.
Location: Fes, Meknes, Voublis and Moully-Idriss a must on any Moroccan journey.
Sofitel is a lovely hotel with very good food and local wine, both at surprisingly reasonable prices. The staff are very warm and welcoming, efficient in their work. The hotel has all the elements of a classic Moroccan Ryad and is very beautiful in a very impressive setting with magnificents views of the Medina. Excellent outdoor evening eating on the rooftops and a great outdoor rooftop pool. Easy access to all the sights and sounds of the Fes and the local area - including an astounding concert of 373 Mosques broadcasting the call to prayer. That said, I would rate it as a 4+ star hotel rather than a 5 star hotel - the spa could use a renovation, the beds could be a bit more comfortable and I think they should take the wall-to-wall carpets out of the rooms, create marble floors throughout and use locally made rugs for the floors. I would definately stay at Sofitel Palais Jamais again. Highly recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by JA2 from Los Angeles, CA

Comfortable and located near the Medina.

Posted 31/05/2012
Pros: The talented musical group at dinner.
Location: Excellent for exploring the medina.
The Sofitel is lovely large hotel with a wonderful garden and pool and lovely views out over the Medina in Fes. We had a terrific light dinner at the Moroccan restaurant (a la carte) in the hotel with an exceptional group of musicians serenading us. The breakfast buffet, however, was ordinary.The free wifi was sluggish in the room, but worked well in the lobby. The bed was large but a bit lumpy. We ended up sleeping crossways, which worked quite well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarah from Oxford, UK

Absolutely fabulous.

Posted 02/03/2012
Pros: The service and the gardens.
Cons: The price of the hotel food was fairly exorbitant.
Location: Perfect - right on the edge of the medina with views across Fez.
The service was everything you'd hope for in a hotel. We were travelling with small children and the staff went out of their way to provide everything we needed, from warm bottles, to babysitters. Views from our room were stunning and the beautiful grounds of the hotel were the perfect antidote to the choas of the medina. We'll certainly be going back there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from USA

beautiful, difficult hotel

Posted 13/08/2011 on Hotels.com
The hotel is beautiful, and the staff were helpful and friendly. It was very nice to pass the time there when not touring. Because Fes is so hot--and it was Ramadan--we spent a lot of time at the hotel. There were problems with the hotel. The main one is that it is isolated. This makes it difficult for you to go out by yourself, and you are also stuck there for meals, which are extremely over priced. Especially during Ramadan, there was no way to eat breakfast or lunch outside the hotel. The breakfast buffet--which was not included in our reservation--was 19 euros per person, which is an absurd amount in an inexpensive city. The hotel got us excellent guides, but because the hotel is so expensive, when we went to the medina, the guide took us to very expensive shops, at which we were pressured to buy. This is partly our fault, in that we did not tell them what we wanted to do and not to do. But if you stay in this hotel and get a hotel guide, you should expect to have the same problems we did. This is a luxury hotel, and people who stay there may expect everything to be expensive. But that was an unpleasant surprise to us. (For instance, water at the hotel cost 15 times as much as in the medina.) It is possible to stay at a nice hotel in a much more convenient, accessible location, for a fraction of the cost. Two more problems. Internet at the hotel is free, but of very poor quality. Of all the hotels I have stayed at in recent years, this was probably the worst internet we have had. The hotel was also extremely unhelpful when it came to modifying our reservation. After making the reservation, we tried to add our daughter to our room. Hotel policy is that for anyone over age 12, it is necessary to get an additional room. They were kind in allowing us to have adjoining r.oms, but we resented having to pay for two rooms. Our reservation was pre-paid and so could not be cancelled, or we would have cancelled All in all, in spite of its good points, I would not stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveller from Cincinnati, OH

Fes

Posted 29/01/2011
The Palais Jamai is a beautiful hotel situated just inside the walls of Fes. I highly recommend it. Luxurious European style hotel with the feel of old Morocco.