Ratings based on 1,899 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from USA

Downtown Quadrant Hotel

Posted 12/03/2017
Pros: Staff was friendly and accommodating. Laundry can be done in the suite.
Cons: Technology - several of us struggled to get on the Wi-Fi, and one of the rooms had difficulty calling out from the room.
Location: Close to downtown and parks.
No frills, and a little on the spendy side. I did appreciate the upgrade on arrival. The in-house phones and Wi-Fi weren't working smoothly, but did eventually work. The staff was accommodating, especially as our flight got delayed, we left our bags and car downstairs after checkout with no problem. It was easy to get downtown from here, and I have no major complaints. It's not a must-see, but it was a clean place to stay, and fairly easy to get to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Great central location

Posted 12/03/2017
Enjoyed my stay in a comfortable room with a great view. Will definitely stay here again in the future
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Wellington

Central City Treasure

Posted 10/03/2017
Pros: tidy, smart and convenient
Location: Close to downtown city area.
Nice facilities, tidy and clean, very convenient, great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Australia

A trip to remember....

Posted 08/03/2017
Pros: Having a bar and a restaurant , spa (small), gym, and sauna were all so good , after our walks during the day my husband had a spa every night
Cons: The bathrooms could be bigger, more mirrors in the unit.Instructions for the washing machine.
Location: The walk down to the shops is a downward walk but it is a steeper climb coming back, we found the local taxis very handy. A 10 minute walk to shops
From the first night , there were little things going wrong but just a phone call away was the staff, always willing to oblige.Through no fault of the Hotel or staff an accident happened with our room, without hesitation we were upgraded. We loved the "happy hour " and found ourselves there , meeting other tourists and locals.Great restaurant, delicious food and great service.The staff are fabulous, nothing is a problem.......
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from london

Good city centre hotel with reasonable price

Posted 27/02/2017
Pros: Location, room decor, space, free full buffet breakfast
Cons: Air con, unrestricted number of devices for free wifi
The hotel was well located within walking distance of quay and major attractions/places to eat. Check in was easy, room upgraded to 2 bedroom room which gave us a little extra space although bathroom was small esp if 4 people were to use. Laundry and kitchenette facilities although we didn't need. Full breakfast incl in our rate which was a bargain compared to other places we stayed. Downsides - the rooms were stuffy albeit fans provided and were needed, and wifi for only 2 devices provided
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Australia

Fawlty Towers

Posted 23/02/2017
Pros: Not much. Room was ok
Cons: Some customer service training of the staff
Room OK but staff nothing short of hopeless. On arrival, girl at reception didn't even know if the room had tea coffee making facilities then sent us to a room that was still being cleaned. They had a problem with the water that meant we had no water for first few hours (unable to shower before dinner - having been in the air all day). Waiter at dinner was "Manuel" of Fawlty Towers. Overall not an experience that we could recommend
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Washington DC

Nice hotel but on top of hill hard to walk to from

Posted 21/02/2017
Location: Close to harbor and downtown restaurants
Nice hotel on top of steep hills Beautiful view Close to restaurants and harbor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Convenient. Walkable

Posted 21/02/2017
Nice hotel comfortable Bathroom small Walkable to water. An hour from airport
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 20/02/2017
Hotel is dated, very small pokey bathroom in need of updating no space to put anything,terrible smell from the drains when we were there. No safe or sky television, dirty dark corridors to room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveller from Orlando, Fl

Old hotel, not best part of town

Posted 19/02/2017
Pros: Good price. clean
Cons: small rooms; no airport shuttle (but they did book a van for us)
Location: very few restaurants near by; 20 min to harbor and lots of restaurants.
Small clean rooms. Was/is in a seedy part of town we were told. 20 min walk to harbor along steep streets.