Ratings based on 728 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Convenient location for family trip

Posted 17/04/2016
Needed a hotel in the area where our family lives and this one was suitably located and proved to be satisfactory. We had no issues and service was there when you required it.
Comment from Hotel Management
22/04/2016 by Bhuwan Shrestha, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback about your experience at the hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I will share this with the team. We look forward to welcome you again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Good location close to transport

Posted 12/04/2016
Had a very pleasant time got upgraded to a spa rome which was very nice
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Good inner city stay

Posted 18/03/2016
Pros: Mostly everything. Great value!
Cons: The shower cubicle in the Executive suite is completely unusable due to the door requiring to be opened inwards. The door stops entry into the shower.
Location: 30 seconds from a major shopping hub. 10 seconds walk to the bus stop. Located in the perfect position.
Lovely & clean, well presented & good value from the quality of amenities.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 07/03/2016
Great place close to beach and shops. Excellent staff. Very helpful. Lovely ambience. Clean great pool.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 27/02/2016
Hotel location was good, rooms were clean and had almost everything we desired.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Melbourne

Not off to a great start with Reception

Posted 19/02/2016
Cons: Better customer service skills for Reception
Unfortunately, there was 4 people before me waiting to check in. The process seems to take forever and I was disappointed in the lack of customer service where there was no eye contact made with anyone waiting until it was your turn. Other than that, the room was clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
25/02/2016 by The buckingham team, Hotel Management
Dear Fiona, I am really sorry about the delay in check in on the day of your arrival. We have changed our property management system recently and the staff is still trying to get a hang of this new system so our apologies if no eye contact was made to you as the person might be trying to concentrate. We are glad to know that your rest of the stay was peaceful. Kind regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from New Zealand

Bring an eye mask!

Posted 16/02/2016
Pros: Proximity to the businesses we had to see/attend to.
Cons: The curtains in the rooms need to block out light.
This is a tidy-enough hotel, but really is more 3-star than 4-star in my opinion. In the near future, the rooms would benefit from a facelift. The staff were pleasant, and the room was cleaned well, but two things in particular made sleep near impossible. The first was a very bright big light right outside our window and insufficient curtains to block the light. If you are a person that needs darkness to sleep this is not the place for you. The second was the train! We didn't realize when we booked that there is a train track virtually beside this place and it seemed to run quite late at night and early in the morning, consistently honking its horn. In summary, it's a pleasant and clean enough place for a night, but our stay was 6 nights and we left feeling very sleep-deprived and exhausted.
Comment from Hotel Management
25/02/2016 by The buckingham team, Hotel Management
Good morning Thelma Thank yo for your recent review. Would you mind giving us more information in regards to the room you stayed in. It is not to our knowledge that any of the rooms would have a curtain which does not close property. We would really like to look in to this and resolve this asap. Unfortunately, we can not change our location next to the train line and our apologies that the train honking noise disturbed your sleep. Please give us another chance in future and we can assure you that you will have a better experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller from London, U.K

Hotel was close to public transport, easy to find,

Posted 04/02/2016
Pros: Easy access to amenities, the peace and quiet and value for money.
Cons: For a mid-range price it exceeded expectations.
Location: It is five minutes from the local train station. Trains run frequently and it takes half an hour to reach the city. There are several nice places to e
I had a very pleasant and relaxing stay here. There were staff on hand to deal with any requirements but otherwise they left you in peace. The hotel was very well kept. Both the grounds and the room were always in immaculate condition. There was a (small) pool and gym which were serviced daily and twenty-four hour room service all for a very reasonable price.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller from North Shore, Auckland, NZ

Nice hotel - close to shops and transport

Posted 03/02/2016
Pros: The size of our room was perfect and was enhanced by the fact there was a two-seater couch and a desk with a chair. The swimming pool & gym areas.
Cons: Power points near fridge area for toaster/jug/microwave (if one was to be hired). Avail options were bathroom or desk area. Neither area was ideal.
Location: Westfield Shops 10min walk. Two recreational parks nearby. Public swimming pool complex nearby. Close to train station. On bus route & station 10mins
We chose to stay here as it was close to where our daughter is living. We enjoyed the fact that it was a 10min walk to one of the best Westfield Shopping Centres in Melbourne (outside of Chadstone) and only an 8-10min walk to the Highett train station. We loved the fact that this hotel had a swimming pool and a gym facility and chose it to begin with for these two facilities. Whilst we didn't utilise the restaurant and bar facilities on this visit, they were there also. Our room was clean and tidy and you had the option of having your room serviced daily, or not. The staff were all very friendly and cheerful and took pride in their work. I would recommend this hotel to other visitors and would stay here again, if we were to needing to stay in Highett or the nearby suburbs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Disappointing

Posted 01/02/2016
Pros: The cleanliness
Cons: IthinkI have said it all
Checkin after a 3 1/2 hour drive at after 11pm was dreadful. The staff member had very little ability to speak English, kept flicking from computer to computer and finally finding the actual location of the appartment was nearly a total disaster. No outside lighting at all. Map did not represent location correctly. Took two long trips to reception to finally locate. Contrary to statement, room service is not available after hours. The accommodation was spotless and faultless except for the most appalling sofa. The bed was excellent The key wiped out after the first night and again took two long trips to reception and finally demanding the manager accompany back to the room to confirm that the new key would work. Could have been a 5 star review except for appalling communication skills and lack of expernal lightal lighting. Two easily fixable things
Comment from Hotel Management
02/03/2016 by Neal Ma, Hotel Management
So sorry about the inconvenience. We are shocked by those 2 things you mentioned. And we have solved them now. sensor light and our staff will guide you to where you are going to stay with a working key. Thank you for your time to review us. Have a nice day.