Ratings based on 221 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Denine from Seoul via New York

Impressive hotel for overnight stay

Posted 15/04/2014
Pros: The styled rooms
Cons: Stay was too short to address this question.
Location: Not too much from what I could see. Apparently this hotel is far from central Shanghai.
I would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat. I only stayed for approximately 8 hours however I was quite impressed with the upscale styled rooms. Hotel very clean, beds were very comfortable, and appreciated the complimentary shuttle to the airport. My only minor issue was the hotel is really not as close to the airport as I thought it would be, about 11 kilometers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

A lovely hotel in Shanghai

Posted 13/04/2014
Pros: The staff's accommodating & professional attitude, the décor, the grounds, the food
Cons: The service from the airport, especially the people at the kiosk there. Having someone better able to understand English would be helpful.
We were very impressed with the staff's service in this lovely building. The grounds are well maintained & impressive. And the food is pretty nice too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by bhushan from new york

very clean not too far from the airport ,

Posted 17/03/2014
Pros: very well equipped room .
Cons: pick up service at the airport is unreliable .
Location: not much to do
pleasant . Did not get picked up at the airport inspite of faxing the arrival info in advance .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by A verified traveller

Overnight International Traveller

Posted 10/03/2014
Location: Good location to Pu Dong International Airport if you have an early flight and the complimentary hotel shuttle was excellent to save on cab far.
Hotel was average. For a hotel that is close to an international airport, they did not have much selection on their buffet menu for international travellers. Air conditioning in the room also did not work properly and wasn't pleasant on a rather muggy evening. Other than that, hotel served it's purpose.
2 out of 5
by Ctlady from Connecticut,USA

Very Disappointed

Posted 07/03/2014
Royal International Hotel Shanghai is little far from the airport. They doesn't have regular airport shuttle bus schedule, the hotel web. can't leave the message. You have to call them. I stayed there for my flight transfer. I made a reservation for my arrival flight. My flight arrival Shanghai Pudong airport about 4:30pm.They can't coming to pick up around 5:20pm, because the driver needed to have dinner at that time. My reservation airport pick up was 6:20pm. After I got through the customs, It was about 5:30pm. I waited for the bus by the bus stop inside then I went outside standing in the cool waited for the shuttle bus form 6:15pm-6:35pm. I saw the other hotel shuttle bus in and out twice already. I didn't see the Royal International Hotel's bus once. Finally I took the taxi, spend 20mins 50yuan got to the hotel. Very disappointed for their airport shuttle bus service. When I got to the hotel room, They called me and told me that they did went to the bus stop that time and didn't see me. What the LIE !!!! Because this,the hotel up great my room to executive room. The room was very nice, comfy, clean. Front desk was very good. Check in and check out was fast. The hotel nearby is not very pleasent. I think I will try another airport hotel if I go the Shanghai pudong airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Krum from Virginia, USA

Shuttle from airport and breakfast

Posted 11/02/2014
Pros: I guess the room was ok for 1 guest or a "romantic" stay.
Cons: More friendly buffet waiters and servers. To provide information on closings of restaurants or facilities due to big Chinese celebrations, i.e. New Ye
Location: It was 1 night stay/stop due to long travel to USA with our adopted son from Guangzhou.
We arrived after 11 pm @ Shanghai's airport since our flight from Guangzhou was delayed for almost 3 hours. At our arrival we were looking for the Hotel's desk which was difficult to find and when we finally found it, it was closed. We asked at another counter for some help, since we were extremely tired and with our 3 yrs. old son that we have just adopted, also very tired and 3 big bags. The guy agreed on helping us by calling the Royal Hotel for us, he did but there was no shuttle available, since they have services until 11 pm, something we were not able to confirm. We had to pay $60.00 to a Taxi to get to the Hotel, we didn't even know if it was save to ride with them. The breakfast buffet was not competitive for a 5 star Hotel and the coffee was warm, they couldn't make it hot, and it was close to 10 am and they were just wanting to be done with it!! We stayed for about 10 days at the LN Garden Hotel in Guangzhou, Guandong, and their buffet was amazing, with tons of options and a huge group of servers. Also, the room was kind of small for a "suite" compare to LN Garden who provided us a 2 rooms suite for a little bit less money. We were for the first time in China to adopt our 3 years old son.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by stuart from scotland

no airport shuttle bus after 11pm

Posted 06/02/2014
Cons: accurate information on expedia website
the room we stayed in was very nice, clean and luxurious, however when we arrived in shanghai we phoned the hotel and were told the shuttle bus was not available after 11pm unless booked in advance, the hotel is 14k away from airport and cost 63rmb in taxi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by A verified traveller

Close to airport - nice hotel

Posted 21/01/2014
Pros: Food, staff, room - it was all good.
Cons: I would allow the windows to be opened.
Location: Location not the best but it is not unsafe. Some small shops nearby and lots of "local" eateries if you are into that.
This was my first stay at this hotel. Usually when I am flying out of Shanghai I stay at the airport hotel, but this is my new place. The hotel was very nice and all of the employees I encountered spoke good English and were extremely helpful. Some reviews complained about the staff not speaking English but come on - you are in a different country. You aren't learning Chinese.... Anyway, the food was decent and for the price I think this is excellent value. The hotel itself is not in the most touristy of neighborhoods but if you walk a few blocks there's some small shops and a McDonald's. Cabs to bund not too expensive either.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lucas from Germany

Great stay with top service

Posted 20/01/2014
We ordered the free airport shuttle in advance and there were three employees coming to pick us up (driver, porter and receptionist). The rooms offer all luxury that one can wish for: great tropical rain shower, free standing bath tub, excellent entertainment system (with the option to connect your laptop via VGA, HDMI or USB), nice desk, free internet, automatic controls for almost everything (e. g. opening the curtains) and so on. Employees are very friendly, competent and helpful. Best hotel I have stayed so far!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 13/01/2014