Ratings based on 227 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from NY

Not that convenient....

Posted 20/07/2014
Cons: They should honor requests when customers request non smoking rooms.
We booked this hotel since we read it was near the airport. First- We requested our rooms to be non smoking but they only had 1 of the 2 rooms we reserved to be Nonsmoking. (And the Smoking rooms were very smoky smelling!) 2nd-the hotel shuttle to and from the airport only runs certain times of the day. We had to pay to get from the Airport to the Hotel- using the hotel car it cost us an extra $50 for the 4 of us. Then in the morning we had to get to the airport extra early based on when the shuttle bus ran. The other thing to note about staying in hotels in China- they require you to leave a deposit for additional charges to the room. So when we decided to eat dinner at the hotel - we were notified that we did not have enough of a deposit and had to return to the front desk so they could charge more. I would stay in Shanghai next time- even though it is further from the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Lovely hotel but nowhere to go outside hotel

Posted 28/06/2014
Overnight stopover enroute to Europe. Lovely lobby and room. The guys at the hotel's airport desk tried to charge us 300 cny for a 50 cny taxi ride to hotel...although we were on the executive floor the executive lounge was not operating so no pre dinner drinks or breakfast available there...location of the hotel is not good - can't wander outside to find somewhere for dinner so have to eat all meals in hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Pleasantly surprised

Posted 04/06/2014
The hotel was surprisingly nice and good for an early rise to the airport. The free shuttle bus to the airport leaves at 9:00am and is 25 minutes away to the International Departure at the airport. It is best to check in to your flight online beforehand to avoid any stressful situations. The staff forgot my breakfast ordering the morning and offered it for free, but I had to rush and eat it to make sure I caught the shuttle bus on time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by michelle from Los Angeles,CA, USA

It's cleaner than expected.

Posted 02/06/2014
It was near from the Pudong Airport and it was better than expected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Good hotel

Posted 08/05/2014
I stayed here one night between transit flights. It was really comfy and the facilities are great. Quiet, restful and luxurious which was what I wanted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Denine from Seoul via New York

Impressive hotel for overnight stay

Posted 15/04/2014
Pros: The styled rooms
Cons: Stay was too short to address this question.
Location: Not too much from what I could see. Apparently this hotel is far from central Shanghai.
I would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat. I only stayed for approximately 8 hours however I was quite impressed with the upscale styled rooms. Hotel very clean, beds were very comfortable, and appreciated the complimentary shuttle to the airport. My only minor issue was the hotel is really not as close to the airport as I thought it would be, about 11 kilometers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

A lovely hotel in Shanghai

Posted 13/04/2014
Pros: The staff's accommodating & professional attitude, the d├ęcor, the grounds, the food
Cons: The service from the airport, especially the people at the kiosk there. Having someone better able to understand English would be helpful.
We were very impressed with the staff's service in this lovely building. The grounds are well maintained & impressive. And the food is pretty nice too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by bhushan from new york

very clean not too far from the airport ,

Posted 17/03/2014
Pros: very well equipped room .
Cons: pick up service at the airport is unreliable .
Location: not much to do
pleasant . Did not get picked up at the airport inspite of faxing the arrival info in advance .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by A verified traveller

Overnight International Traveller

Posted 10/03/2014
Location: Good location to Pu Dong International Airport if you have an early flight and the complimentary hotel shuttle was excellent to save on cab far.
Hotel was average. For a hotel that is close to an international airport, they did not have much selection on their buffet menu for international travellers. Air conditioning in the room also did not work properly and wasn't pleasant on a rather muggy evening. Other than that, hotel served it's purpose.
2 out of 5
by Ctlady from Connecticut,USA

Very Disappointed

Posted 07/03/2014
Royal International Hotel Shanghai is little far from the airport. They doesn't have regular airport shuttle bus schedule, the hotel web. can't leave the message. You have to call them. I stayed there for my flight transfer. I made a reservation for my arrival flight. My flight arrival Shanghai Pudong airport about 4:30pm.They can't coming to pick up around 5:20pm, because the driver needed to have dinner at that time. My reservation airport pick up was 6:20pm. After I got through the customs, It was about 5:30pm. I waited for the bus by the bus stop inside then I went outside standing in the cool waited for the shuttle bus form 6:15pm-6:35pm. I saw the other hotel shuttle bus in and out twice already. I didn't see the Royal International Hotel's bus once. Finally I took the taxi, spend 20mins 50yuan got to the hotel. Very disappointed for their airport shuttle bus service. When I got to the hotel room, They called me and told me that they did went to the bus stop that time and didn't see me. What the LIE !!!! Because this,the hotel up great my room to executive room. The room was very nice, comfy, clean. Front desk was very good. Check in and check out was fast. The hotel nearby is not very pleasent. I think I will try another airport hotel if I go the Shanghai pudong airport.