Ratings based on 236 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
33% of guests recommend
2.4 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia-Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from South Pacific

Awesome location!

Posted 17/06/2018
Pros: Ease of access off the road when driving into carpark
Cons: Keep the upgrades going!
Location: Best part is every thing is on your door step. Bakery, bar, pizza place, laundry, dairy/lotto shop all within 50m and then a choice of another 40 rest
It is an old building which creaks and can hear people walking upstairs. Hopefully wasn't ghosts haha. Not flash but definitely adequate short term accommodation
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Parnell City Lodge.

Posted 19/04/2018
Pros: N/A
Cons: Cleanliness and to upgrade from shabby to clean.
Location: Did not bother to look as I was too upset.
We arrived a little early to fill in the paperwork and informed the owner we could come back later to check into the room. Firstly we were met with cold rudeness. The parking lot looked untidy and unkempt. The foyer of this lodge was untidy -floors not swept, dust on the desk and papers strewn all over the foyer desk. The landlord was scruffy, untidy, impatient and terribly dismissive . Walking to the room seemed like I was living a nightmare the corridor to the room had stained untidy looking carpets. The room although had the once over cleaning, had a distinctive stale stench. The carpet looked old, worn out and stained. When my friend who drove me to this lodge, and I commented on the smell the owner aggressively stated that the room was clean, handed me the key and stormed out, leaving us standing there in utter bewilderment. In all it was a nightmare so I left and booked into another hotel. Maybe I was unfortunate. I TAKE THIS OPPORTUNITY to THANK EXPEDIA and their excellent staff who handled my complaints promptly , displaying empathy, patience, courtesy and professionalism. Nothing for the Expedia team was a bother. They called back later to check I was okay when I had booked into the other hotel. They also dealt with my complaints in a manner that reassured me immediately especially as I was in another country and felt vulnerable after my ordeal. I would definitely recommend booking through Expedia as they care about you. THANK YOU Expedia for all your help.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from NZ

Filthy, dated, but great location

Posted 18/04/2018 on Wotif
Pros: Location
Cons: Staff need training and standards need to be upgraded and set. This place has so much potential. Surely it must be a health hazard.
Location: Central Parnell.
Everything appeared totally unprofessional on this site. First impressions set the standard of the room. Reception area untidy and vacuum cleaners sitting there (clearly this is their storage area as they don't appear to have been used int he room I had)The room was filthy - bed linen gross, dirt, dust and grime everywhere, cutlery unclean, dirt and dust around electrical cords and power points, mold and mildew on curtains. Didn't use the shower as there was still old soap left on the shelf so nervous to think of what else was in the soap trap. Tiny fridge with old microwave balancing on top of it and dirty old toaster balancing on top of that. Old furniture cramped into the room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 15/04/2018
Grumpy staff. Some minor maintenance would make a big difference to this place. It has great potential but needs some TLC.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from wellington new zealand

Easter in Auckland

Posted 07/04/2018
Pros: Location, Location, Location
Cons: Service, Service
Location: On the corner of Parnell Road and St. Stephen's Ave Parnell, directly opposite to the Holy Trinity Cathedral and shops so a fairly prime location.
A really great location. It's just a pity our first impression of our reception greeting and subsequent request for additional towels wasn't great and this set the scene for the remainder of our stay here. Originally booked for 3x nights but stayed 2x. The room was adequate, the bathroom tight, not enough cutlery or plates etc for 4x people, the TV was good. Looks like they are making some renovations? which could make things better.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Not staying here agsin

Even my kids noticed it was filthy

Posted 04/04/2018 on Wotif
receptionist doesn't regularly check his emails and had already given our room away.. So he put us in a different room. He called the cleaner who was finishing her clean of this room so it was now ready. She was finishing up as we walked in but had no vacuum, mop nor any clean linen. the place hadn't been vacuumed, in the lounge was a pull down double bed which was already down and she hadn't cleaned all the bits and pieces from under it, more rubbish under couch cushions a small red carpet mat at the end of the bed had so much dirt under it I don't think it's ever been cleaned! Behind the TV cabinet along the window was a mass trail of dirt, dust and dead bugs also left there for us.. She spot cleaned the lino badly with a cloth instead of a mop and there was the previous guests hair in the shower! Four of us staying in this room and we were given one small bar of soap and one tiny shampoo barely big enough for one. The handle for the shower door had been snapped off at some stage and not repaired making it nearly impossible to even open the door - the bathroom door itself was missing its rollers meaning my kids couldn't even shut the door - when I helped them we found the door was too small for the door frame!!! Thick layers of dust on every high surface and all skirting boards. Outside was a mess, dirt and cords everywhere. Mattresses in the outside hallways and cords running down the stairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from tauranga

wonderfully central to city. all day bus services

Posted 04/04/2018
Pros: space comfort and a really good nights sleep every thing we wanted.
Cons: they are in the process of upgrading the whole complex.
Location: don,t really need transport its right outside the gate. city shoping art gallerys down town waterfront shows every thing the city has to offer
for the price unbeatable and comfortable.did every thing we wanted and will certainly be going back again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Dirty

Posted 31/03/2018
Was very disappointed as found the Motel bery dirty. The bathroom hadn’t been cleaned, floors not valcummed, very dated
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Wellington, New Zealand

Please do not book this place or advertise it

Posted 27/03/2018
Pros: Absolutely nothing - please do not endorse or advertise this venue on your site. It is not good for your brand.
Cons: Remove it from your advertising - you will be avoiding many future complaints.
We arrived 1.5 hours after check in (which is at 2:00pm). The owner who manages the reception was not welcoming at all, had a bad attitude and unfriendly. When we went to the room to check in we found that it has not been cleaned, beds unmade, bathrooms in a state. We went back to the reception and complained about the state of the room. The owner called the cleaner and asked for the room to be cleaned. There was no way that the rooms would have been ready in time and the state of the place outside and inside is actually quite disgraceful. I do not think that Expedia should be endorsing or advertising this venue because it gives your brand a bad name. I want my money back please. When we asked the owner for a refund he said that he had not received the money and to contact the booking agent.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Huge let-down

Posted 27/03/2018 on Hotels
I’ve learnt a lesson not to check reviews for an accommodation provider prior to booking it. This place was a total let-down. From the moment we arrived I felt uncomfortable. It was clear that they catered more for long stays than overnight travellers. The outside of the building was run down, the alleyway near the reception area was stacked with old, broken things. The owner was manning the reception and he was unfriendly and made us feel unwelcome. The cherry on the cake was when he unlocked our room and we discovered the room was not made – at 3:30pm in the afternoon! We decided not to stay there for the night and the owner would not refund us. He told us to go to the booking agent direct.The photos speak for themselves. Our weekend was ruined by this experience. I would highly recommend you to not advertise this property any longer.