Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia-Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 14/05/2019
Very clean.. Food was just Devine 5 star Michelin. Presentation first class. Wonderful place to stay staff were very helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Cold and old eggs!

Posted 20/01/2019 on Hotels
Not so good. Arrived late at night in January, no heating in bedrooms- so frozen at least an hour waiting for the radiator and then the bedroom to warm up! Not pleasant. Next morning, a very average breakfast (old eggs that had been made a long time before we arrived) for a whopping 14 euros per person. My overall evaluation is that the cost benefit ratio is a bit out of wack.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 15/08/2018 on Hotels
Nice hotel, no air con but on the banks of the river.. If you want to eat there book ahead as it was full when we arrived Drinks expensive but cross River and go right and nice little store 4 pack 5 euro. Breakfast nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 11/07/2018
Minimalist room, functional more than comfortable. Nice staff, great breakfast
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

All good--one surprise to warn you about!

Posted 29/05/2018 on Hotels
We stopped for a night in the drive between Geneva and Paris. We were delighted by the hotel and its grounds (a lovely walk around a pond) and the town-all charming. The price was good, we were happy. ONE WARNING: We were there for a Sunday night when the hotel restaurant was not open. The staff suggested we go just across the river to Cote Saint Jacques. We called, reserved, and went. Arrived to discover it is a 2 star restaurant--lovely and VERY expensive. We did not expect this--no warning-so we took a deep breath and paid 70E each for the simplest meal possible (just one dish, no starters, desert) and 60E for a half bottle of wine...a little warning would have helped us get in 'over our heads'!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

A wonderful find!

Posted 06/05/2018 on Hotels
Wonderful location with stunning views over the river. Clean and very comfortable, with a beautiful terrace and gardens. We had a wonderful meal in the restaurant and all the staff were very helpful and friendly. Would highly recommend this hotel and the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from London

Nice local hotel with excellent restaurant

Posted 09/04/2018
It is a very nicely located hotel in Joigny - walking distance to the city centre and beautiful river view. Spacious outside parking. Close to a local park and with a small park of its own. Rooms are clean and modern. Excellent restaurant downstairs. Staff was very warm and welcoming. Will definitely come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveller

Lovely as usual.

Posted 17/02/2018 on Hotels
This hotel is always perfect. The rooms are clean and quiet, the breakfast is delicious, the staff efficient, professional, welcoming. I have stayed here many times, and will certainly be doing so again. I have also recommended it to friends and family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Cowes, Isle of Wight

Our stay in a beautiful location

Posted 25/01/2018
Pros: The food, comfort and friendly staff.
We had a wonderful stay, delicious gourmet meal in a beautiful hotel. The staff were extremely efficient in coping with evacuating all the guests from the hotel when the river which had risen several feet overflowed over the road and into the car park. We were very impressed with the quick efficient way they helped us move the cars and took us through the water in their 4x4 vehicles at 6am!! We will certainly go back there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
30/01/2018 by Aurélie , Hotel Management
we are glad that you had a pleasant stay during your visit at the Rive Gauche despite the floods. It was normal for us to help the customers better in order to reach their vehicle as quickly as possible. We will be delighted to welcome you back with us on your next stay which we hope sunny. With our best regards.
5 out of 5
by Alan

Perfect break

Posted 20/06/2017 on Hotels
Great setting on River Yonne, in grounds two ponds with croaking toads, black swan and ducks, excellent breakfast. Great place for a stay and to visit La Fabuloserie nearby