Ratings based on 3,004 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from auckland

Great stay

Posted 25/03/2017
Painless check in and given $10 credit each for the casino. Great reception staff. Loved the 11am checkout
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveller from Auckland

Good hotel when using the Casino facility

Posted 11/03/2017
Always stay here on our monthly visit to the casino,never had a bad experience
Comment from Hotel Management
13/03/2017 by Helena , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your great review and for being a loyal and regular guest here with us. I do hope our team here assist you in all that you need during your time here with us and we look forward to your next visit. Have a great day!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from bahrain

Nice location

Posted 11/03/2017
Nice location, friendly staff but a bit expensive with the rate of the hotel you should have everything great. The bed wasn't comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
13/03/2017 by Helena , Hotel Management
Here at SKYCITY Hotel we are so very fortunate to be in such a prime location which serves to be very beneficial for our guests, especially as you can always find your way back having Aucklands tallest landmark to reference to when returning to the Hotel. I do hope you had a wonderful stay and I do apologise for any discomfort you had endured during your time here with us. Have a wonderful week!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Port Angeles, WA

Great location

Posted 10/03/2017
My friend and I stayed here for one night after a long cruise and we had a great stay. One stop for the Hop on Hop Off bus is right there and we did this to get a great overview of Auckland. There are two hotels on the property and we went to the Grand by mistake, but the other one is right across the street and they took our bags over for us. It has several restaurants, bars and casino. They give you a ten dollar 'chip' for the casino. Plus several popular restaurants across the street. Queen street with lots of shops is about three blocks away. The entrance to Sky Tower is in the hotel just down the escalator. We had a very clean, large, comfy room. The staff at the check in were kind of non-committal, but no biggie.
Comment from Hotel Management
13/03/2017 by Helena, Hotel Management
Here at SKYCITY Hotel we are so very fortunate to be apart of such a wonderful establishment which provide our guests such conveniences such as location, entertainment, eateries and many more. I do hope you were able to take great advantage of such on your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best Wishes,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from minnesota, usa

Location

Posted 10/03/2017
We really liked the hotel and the location was perfect for shopping and restaurants and going to wharf. Clean and modern.
Comment from Hotel Management
13/03/2017 by Helena , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your lovely review! I am pleased to learn that our location here at SKYCITY Hotel served to be very beneficial for you during your time here with us. We hope you have a great day and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Wishes,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Great Central Location

Posted 01/03/2017
Pros: Staff were excellent, friendly and very helpful Rooms were cleaned very well
Cons: Bigger beds, update bathrooms
Location: Excellent location, walked everywhere, close to city, harbour and all shopping that needed to be done
Noisy rooms, can hear the shower/bath change clunk from next door, all the noise from the corridor and no view to speak of Shower over the bath is out dated and old fashioned, clean but need updating Double beds are old fashioned also
Comment from Hotel Management
13/03/2017 by Helena , Hotel Management
Thank you very much for providing us with both encouraging and constructive feedback as it provides us with the tools to both improve and sustain those areas we are both lacking and thriving in. I do hope that you had a wonderful start to your week. Best Wishes,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Norman, OK

Nice hotel close to major sites

Posted 20/02/2017
Pros: Location, friendly staff, and comfort. The shower head has a strong spray, which is great. Some hotels have shower heads that don't work all that well
Cons: Not really anything.
Location: Perfect location. Hop-on, hop-off bus stop in front of hotel. Linked to Sky Tower. Parks and wharf short walk away (10 minutes). Excellent food nearby
This hotel is in the perfect location for sightseeing. It is next to Sky Tower, near excellent restaurants, a short walk to Albert Park and Victoria Park, the theatre, and pick up for the hop-on, hop-off bus is located in front of the hotel. It's also a pretty easy walk to the wharf. The hotel staff were courteous and friendly and the room was comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
21/02/2017 by Helena, Hotel Management
Wow! What a wonderful review! I am very thankful for the time you have taken to provide us with your lovely and positive feedback of your recent stay here with us. I am pleased to learn that you not only had a comfortable & enjoyable stay, but also a convenient one. It is fantastic when guests take great advantage of our central location. Have a wonderful day and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Wishes,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from norfolk, uk

Posted 07/02/2017
Good stay at bustling central hotel. Are at Andy's burger restaurant at the hotel - highly recommended!
Comment from Hotel Management
08/02/2017 by Helena , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your lovely review! I appreciate the time you had taken to provide us with such. I will pass on your positive review of your dining experience at Andy's Burgers. Have a wonderful day!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from uk

Central position

Posted 22/01/2017
Average hotel breakfast only average andys bar good food and service and nice atmosphere
Comment from Hotel Management
03/02/2017 by Helena , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your positive and constructive review. I do hope that you had a wonderful overall experience here at SKYCITY Auckland. Have a wonderful day and weekend!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Overrated

Posted 18/01/2017
Pros: Nice bed and linens.
Location: Walkable to sights
TV did not work. Two calls for help before someone came and fixed. Then discovered major ceiling leak in bathroom. Hotel moved us but refused two requests for any compensation for the inconvenience. One desk clerk lied and said it wasn't possible. When I complained to a manager, was given two comp breakfasts. Hotel is dominated by its casino facility. Feels big, impersonal and glitzy. Cardio room mediocre for a hotel this size. No weights.
Comment from Hotel Management
27/01/2017 by Helena , Hotel Management
I would like to send my most sincere apologies for the disappointing experience you had encountered during your stay here with us. It is very unfortunate that our team were lacking in assisting you with your issues and I assure you this is not the standard that we encourage our team to uphold. Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention as it will greatly assist in further improving our standards and services. Have a wonderful day!