Photo gallery


3.6 / 5Good
661 reviews


  • Pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Air Conditioning


What's nearby

  • Popular Location
    Sylvia Park
    3 min drive
  • Popular Location
    Mt. Smart Stadium
    7 min drive
  • Popular Location
    ASB Showgrounds
    8 min drive
  • Airport
    Auckland (AKL-Auckland Intl.)
    14 min drive

Book online or call:

+64 9913 4658

Your dates need to occur after 2020-02-28. Try updating your dates to see prices for your trip.

    About this area


    Located in Auckland, Mount Richmond Hotel is in the business district and near a train station. The area's natural beauty can be seen at Auckland Domain and Mt. Eden, while Auckland War Memorial Museum and The Civic are cultural highlights. Rainbow's End and Auckland Zoo are not to be missed.

    Popular Location

    What's nearby

    • Sylvia Park - 3 min drive
    • Mt. Smart Stadium - 7 min drive
    • Rainbow's End - 7 min drive
    • ASB Showgrounds - 8 min drive
    • Alexandra Park - 9 min drive

    Getting around

    • Auckland Westfield Station - 12 min walk
    • Auckland (AKL-Auckland Intl.) - 23 min drive


    • Where to eat
    • Poolside – Poolside restaurant with a bar. Serves breakfast and dinner daily, happy hour available. Kids' menu available.

    About this property

    Mount Richmond Hotel

    This smoke-free hotel features a casino, a restaurant and an outdoor pool. Free WiFi in public areas and free self parking are also provided. Additionally, a fitness centre, a bar/lounge and a poolside bar are on-site. All 44 rooms provide free WiFi and free wired Internet, flat-screen TVs with cable channels, and conveniences such as fridges and coffee makers. IPod docking stations, room service (during limited hours) and free local calls are among the other amenities available to guests.

    Awards and affiliations

    Green/Sustainable Property
    This property participates in Qualmark, a programme that measures the property's impact on one or more of the following: The Environment, the community, the cultural heritage and the local economy.

    Property amenities


    Available in all rooms: Free WiFi and wired Internet
    Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

    Parking and public transport

    Free self parking

    Food and drink

    Continental breakfast available for a fee 6:30 AM–9:30 AM on weekdays and 7 AM–10 AM on weekends: NZD 7-28.50 for adults and NZD 7-28.50 for children
    1 restaurant
    1 poolside bar and 1 bar
    Room service available

    Things to do

    3 outdoor tennis courts
    Bike hire
    Fitness centre
    Hiking/biking trails
    Outdoor pool
    Hot tub

    Family friendly

    Dry-cleaning service
    Laundry facilities
    Outdoor pool
    Rollaway/extra beds (surcharge)


    Banquet hall
    Newspapers in reception

    Guest services

    24-hour front desk
    Daily housekeeping
    Dry-cleaning service
    Laundry facilities
    Luggage storage
    Tour/ticket assistance
    Wedding services

    Languages spoken


    Business services

    1 meeting room
    Business centre
    Conference centre


    BBQ grill(s)
    Picnic area


    If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them in the special requests field on the booking page after selecting your room.
    Accessible bathroom
    In-room accessibility
    Wheelchair-accessible parking
    Wheelchair-accessible path of travel


    Smoke-free property

    Room amenities


    Air conditioning
    Blackout drapes/curtains
    Rollaway/extra beds (surcharge)


    Free toiletries


    TV channels
    flat-screen TV
    iPod dock
    MP3 dock

    Food and drink

    Coffee/tea maker
    Electric kettle


    Free local calls
    Iron/ironing board
    5 - Excellent
    4 - Good
    3 - Okay
    2 - Mediocre
    1 - Poor
    Service and Staff
    Property condition


    • Disliked: Staff & service

    Our experience with Mt Richmond Hotel (and Wotif) has been poor. We did not stay at Mt Richmond as an error was made at the hotel/Wotif end. When I realised this the response from the hotel and Wotif was untimely and has resulted in the hotel taking our money and refusing a refund for a visit that did not occur. Incredibly disappointing to say the least!

    Stayed 1 night in Feb. 2020


    • Liked: Staff & service
    • Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities

    The staff was good, very friendly, however the property itself was less than expected for the price. There were stains on the walls (possibly previous water damage?) including in the hallways (third floor with no lift), chipped paint on the nightstands, no tissues in the empty holder, residue from a previous drink in a glass, and the toilet paper holder that was barely attached to the wall. I completed the card offered by the hotel to bring issues to their attention (though there was also no pen provided to do so), though the card was small so there were things missed which are listed here, such as that the hotel seems overdue for a renovation and perhaps could use some attention to details such as cleanliness and toiletry amenities that are commonly provided in other hotels in a similar price range. I was dismayed to say the least at the cost of the room in comparison with the experience and hope these comments are taken to heart, that extra attention is paid to the rooms and even consideration of renovating the property as this would surely bring customer experience in line with the prices charged.

    Stayed 1 night in Feb. 2020


    • Liked: Staff & service
    • Disliked: Property conditions & facilities, room comfort

    ot enough staff

    Good location No parking lot left for a couple of functions. Seems only one staff handle all these issues by herself and this makes all those delayed. As there were a couple of functions going on, the noise was continued till early in the morning. If you wanna have a family trip, especially with your kids, this wouldn't be a great experience at all.

    Stayed 1 night in Feb. 2020

    4/5 Good

    • Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities

    Lovely pool area and TV in lounge. The bed sheets and duvets were very clean & crisp.

    Stayed 2 nights in Feb. 2020


    • Disliked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities

    Very Poor - Avoid

    We booked this motel 9 months ahead for the night Elton John was performing in Auckland. Unfortunately Sir Elton fell sick and his concert was cancelled 24 hours after our booking became non-refundable. Unlike other quality business in NZ (such as Air NZ) who "bent over backwards" to assist people in this situation, this motel could not care less. In fact they even lied in email claiming they could not assist due to hotels.com policy, when hotels.com had actually called them on our behalf to see if they could show some flexibility! As for the property itself it is old, dated, and noisy. I guess it is OK, for 1 night if you are spending the evening out (like at a concert). But not for any longer. I would recommend avoiding this property. The property itself is nothing special and it is better to deal with the many other quality businesses in NZ who are prepared to assist customers and provide flexibility when a very unexpected event occurs.

    Stayed 1 night in Feb. 2020

    Tell us how we can improve our site