Ratings based on 3,106 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from London

Great location

Posted 25/07/2017
Pros: Location and good food.
Location: Great little cafe across the road from the hotel - worth a visit.
The hotel is in the centre of Auckland and you will see it on all of the postcards - a memorable location to stay. Being in such close proximity to the casino, nightlife and traffic I was impressed with the low noise levels and overall comfort. The room and bathroom was clean and the bed was comfortable. The in room dining options were good with many great restaurants and cafes in walking distance too. Staying on the 4th floor (the floors start very high up) the view could have been great but was obstructed by 4 work cranes outside the window which was a bit of a shame. Still lovely to see the lights at night through the thin curtains. I would probably stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from auckland

Great hotel x

Posted 19/07/2017
It was my sister special birthday treat and the hotel staff gave us a bottle champagne and some chocolates to add to the celebration Great night was had
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Rotorua

Close for our visit to the Casino

Posted 17/07/2017
Pros: Cleanliness was tops, great atmostphere
Cons: Could do with a soap rack in the shower, only minor but would help us oldies
Location: Ideally placed for our visit
Great stay, lovely hotel, easy to find, friendly helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Hereford

Excellent stay in Auckland

Posted 15/07/2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing I could fault
Location: Ideal location in the middle of the city.
This hotel is right in the heart of Auckland and is an ideal position to explore the city. The staff could not do anymore to help you and were always pleasant and served you with a smile. A lovely hotel with excellent breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
18/07/2017 by Helena , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your lovely review of your recent stay. I do hope that our team were able to assist you in all that you needed to ensure you had an overall enjoyable experience. We hope to welcome you back to SKYCITY in the near future. Best Wishes,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from UK

Two night stay

Posted 12/07/2017
Pros: Spacious and really comfortable beds
Cons: More staff on at bars
Location: Great location onlt 15/20 minute walk down to the marina area and more bars
Really comfortable bed in very spacious room. One negative if it is a negative was in the Casino area, had to wait a really long time to get served at the bar. A great experience
Comment from Hotel Management
13/07/2017 by Helena, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your lovely review of your recent stay here with us at SKYCITY Hotel. I am pleased to learn that you had taken great advantage of the other fantastic facilities we have here at SKYCITY. We appreciate your constructive feedback and I assure you we will utilise as such to improve on areas our guests feel we are lacking. Have a wonderful day!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Sky City

Posted 28/06/2017
Pros: Location and facilities
Cons: A few more seating places in General areas
Location: Central Auckland so Restaurants, Theatres, Shopping
Central with entertainment, gambling, meals. Transport at the door, Theatres and Shopping nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
12/07/2017 by Helena, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review of your recent stay here with us. We hope you an overall enjoyable and comfortable stay. Best Wishes,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Auckland south

Central, everything close by or onsite

Posted 04/06/2017
Pros: facilities, service and accommodating to our needs.
Cons: nothing really
Location: Walked Queen street, went to the Stables eatery, jade dragon for dinner with friends, drinks downstairs, rooms easily accessible.
Family celebration weekend with lunch at Fortuna. All went as planned, stay was very good, food and service very good. Did have to wait an hour until our room was ready, but it was a more convenient room, bigger and worth the wait. Very pleasant stay despite the venue being full and very busy.
Comment from Hotel Management
08/06/2017 by Helena, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review and rating of your recent stay here with us. I do hope that your time here at SKYCITY Hotel was an enjoyable and comfortable one. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveller from Dargaville NZ

Posted 16/05/2017
Pros: Have always liked to stay at Sky City - a bit of a pokies fan, but unfortunately with old age, I am unable to stay as often as I would like
Cons: The toilet was far to low - most awkward for old people to get up and down. Was a real problem.
Location: We didn't venture further than the Casino!
Had an amazing upgrade to a superb suite. A Real pleasure and many thanks
Comment from Hotel Management
19/05/2017 by Helena , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the time you have taken out of your day to provide us with your honest and lovely feedback. It is only through such constructive concerns that we can make improvements on those areas our guests feel we may be lacking. I will most definitely make your concerns known to our Executive Housekeeper. I do hope that your stay with us was comfortable and enjoyable and that we can welcome you back in the near future. Best Wishes,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Cramped room with no view

Posted 04/05/2017
Pros: The rooms were clean and the valet staff was friendly and felpful.
Cons: The room descriptions online need to match the actual rooms.
We booked 3 rooms for 5 nights at this hotel. The internet booking was for a Premium King Room (600+ square feet) with a king bed plus a single bed - perfect for three adults or so we thought. Upon arrival we were told there was no such room at the hotel and our choice was a much smaller room (300+ square feet) with either one king bed or two double beds. Since there was not room in the king room for a roll-away bed, we had to take the double bed rooms. Adding to the disappointment was the view from all three rooms of an interior roof and the air conditioning units. The hotel not only didn't provide the rooms we booked, but made the situation worse with the rooms we were given.
Comment from Hotel Management
08/05/2017 by Helena , Hotel Management
Thank you for your response, I do believe I have responded to your concerns via email. We are disappointed that your stay was not to your expectations and we do wish to welcome you back in the near future. Have a great day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 03/05/2017
Great central location, friendly staff. Clean and well serviced. Would return
Comment from Hotel Management
08/05/2017 by Helena, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your lovely review of your recent stay here with us at SKYCITY Hotel. I do hope you had an overall fantastic experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.