Ratings based on 1,139 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travellerfrom Troy, NY

Hotel For Frequent Vistors

Posted 13/01/2011 on Hotels.com
We've been using Hotel Alexander for a couple of years now. We have family on the upper west side so we're in and out of the City frequently. We we don't need fancy. We need comfortable, clean, reasonable and convenient. Hotel Alexander is perfect for us
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travellerfrom Raleigh, NC

Good hotel on a budget

Posted 29/12/2010
The staff was extremely helpful. When we first arrive we had a problem with the heating in our room (which was kind of a big issue since we went for Christmas), but the staff gave a new room immediately (they even upgrade us at no extra cost). The hotel is conveniently located near restaurants and a metro station, also within walking distance of the M60 bus stop (if you are coming from LGA this can be really useful). Overall a good hotel, nothing fancy but just what you may need if visiting the city for a few days.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Very run down

Posted 27/12/2010 on Hotels.com
Spartan was the only word when could muster for our room. It was cold, the heat was inconsistent and had no control in the room. There was also a section of wallpaper peeling back with mold on the wall underneath, very unhealthy for anyone concerned about toxic molds. We came away from our stay sick from allergy issues. The hotel in general was very run down.
1 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom California

Never again!

Posted 23/12/2010
Although this hotel appears charming from the outside, it is very dirty, and not renovated on the inside. The elevator, literally, holds only one or two persons. The stairs are steep, and smell of urine. The carpets are worn, torn, and filthy. The front desk people are unpredictable. Some were nice and helpful, others were very rude. our room was either freezing or sweltering. The old-school furnace hissed all night. It was not a comfortable hotel at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 22/12/2010 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travellerfrom Kirkcaldy, Scotland, UK

A nice little place in the upper west side.

Posted 20/12/2010
When we first arrived check in was quick and easy and only took a few minutes. we were given a room on the 6th floor which was basic but was perfect for us as we weren't planning on spending much time in it anyway! We were apprehensive about sharing a bathroom with other people as this was the first time we have ever done this. But to be honest it was no problem at all as the bathroom was always free and was right next to our room. So i wouldn't advise paying the extra for your own bathroom. The lift in the hotel was quite slow but thats just a minor rather picky observation. The hotel staff were also very friendly and helpful, we asked for advice a couple times about where to get off the subway and stuff, and they always went out of their way to explain everything to us. Also their was always someone on the reception 24 hours a day. Also they were quick to respond when we asked for clean towels, they were brought up really quickly. There was also internet available in the lounge area,you paid 1 Dollar and got 10 minutes which i thought was reasonable. The hotel was also in an ideal location for jumping on and off the subway as it was a two minute walk to the station. So overall i would definitely recommend this hotel to people looking to visit New York on a budget!
3 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom Milano

Hotel Alexander a due fermate di metro da Times Square

Posted 17/12/2010
Hotel Alexander: ottima posizione in quanto con la linea 1 2 3 della metro si raggiunge in poche fermate "il centro"; il quartiere (Upper west side) non è male ci sono molti servizi. Il personale dell'albergo è stato abbastanza gentile e disponibile; La camere che ci è stata data però era piccolissima, ci stava a mala pena il letto, però diciamo che per utilizzare l'hotel solo per dormire può andar bene sopratutto per il prezzo (basso) che abbiamo pagato.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travellerfrom Winnipeg, MB

NY on a budget

Posted 15/12/2010
The hallways are a little scary-looking, but the room seemed to have been re-done recently. For the price, it compares very favorably to others in the neighbourhood. Bathrooms are clean and well maintained.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveller

Great location, nice hotel, great price

Posted 15/12/2010 on Hotels.com
Great location in the upper west side and the rates are a steal. Rooms are clean and comfortable, I had a room with my own bathroom which was very modern and nice. I will definitely stay here again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveller

5 giorni di dicembre a NY

Posted 13/12/2010
Abbiamo scelto camera doppia con bagno privato e abbiamo pagato relativo supplemeto. L'Hotel si è dimostrato essenziale (dimensioni della camera ridotte al minimo) ma pulito e sicuro (sistemazione giornaliera della camera) con personale efficiente, sobrio e disponibile. L'ubicazione (west end) è comoda (96 sulla linea 1 rossa, 20 min dal financial district) e pratica.