Ratings based on 518 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Convenient location

Posted 16/04/2014
Very friendly and helpful staff. Good location , very central to all our needs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wayne from Sydney

Excellent location considering price

Posted 07/04/2014
Right in heart of city. It's clean and staff are very friendly. Rooms are basic but that's what you've got to expect when you consider the price you pay. If you want 5 star rooms then go pay higher elsewhere. For me I just needed a bed for the night in perfect location and that's what I got
Comment from
10/01/2014
Dear Wayne, Thank you for your review. We do hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Meri from Adelaide

Another stay at Mercure Welcome.

Posted 31/03/2014
Pros: The location ,location and location!!
Cons: More training for the staff so that there is a uniform approach.
Location: This hotel is a few steps away from the department stores of David Jones and Myer and Bourke Street Mall China town and excellent eating places.
We made a quick decision to have a weekend in Melbourne and we knew this hotel from previous visits and so we booked. What I found this time was excellent Housekeeping staff but the front desk staff and waiting staff vary greatly from helpful to ordinary! Our room was very small but adequate. The lifts again were out of use but not for as long this time! We had a less than friendly welcome from a male waiter at breakfast who couldn't find our room number and we were about to leave when the female staff member at the desk 'rescued' us and our experience.
Comment from
04/01/2014
Dear Meri, Thank you for your recent patronage. I am sorry to read that we did not tick all the boxes during your stay. Feedback such as yours allows us to identify areas of improvement and I thank you for providing a review. Kind regards, Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Not worth it

Posted 21/03/2014
Very old, cramped Dirty carpet, walls, ceiling, exposed piping for fire sprinkler. Old school bath tiles, shower and bath tub in 1, bath tub cracks everywhere
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Great location, would definitely stay again.

Posted 18/03/2014
Pros: Location, room comfort. Biscuits every day :)
Cons: TV reception was poor. Bumping up the price for the Grand Prix weekend to "double" the normal is a bit ridiculous.
Location: In the heart of the city. Mall and main street with trams within 2 minutes walking distance. LOTS of places to eat nearby!
Staff were very friendly (including housekeeping). I stayed in a standard room with a queen bed and it was perfect for one person. The room is not huge (I must admit I could have used another chair somewhere, only had the one at the desk) but it's cosy. Shower was amazing!!! On a non Grand Prix weekend, this hotel is great value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Mackay, Qld

Very Good in City Centre

Posted 18/03/2014
Cons: Forget the internet limitations. But keep free internet. This was a very pleasant change where most of the world has free internet - except OZ
Location: Fantastic Location - couldn't get better.
We really enjoyed this place. We didn't stay in the room much over our three days as it was just for sleeping. However it was very quiet and we have nothing to complain about. Free internet is via a silly system where you get a 2 hour voucher which must cost more to manage then it returns in value and just annoys the guests. But it did work and was relatively fast - at least fast enough). The view out our window was a cement wall of the building next door. But hey we just used it for sleeping. The bed was king size so pleased with that. Only issue was that it had a doona and no blankets. I hate doonas. The second night the hotel gave us blankets - so happy people. We didn't use the restaurant. Location is absolutely A1. Outside it was 30m to China town and lots of buskers. There was tram stop right outside the front door. We had Myki cards for the public transport (very recommended) and it was a dream to get a round. Happy to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Close to theatres and shopping mall

Posted 04/03/2014
A great place to stay when taking in a show on Exhibition Street. Close to shopping mall and public transport.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nara from Canberra

Fine for a business trip

Posted 02/03/2014
Small rooms. But comfy bed and shower is good. Room were clean. But the hotel housekeeping needs to be aware of their environmental consequences. Everyday they dispose of the soap I was using. Although I left a message saying 'Please do not trash the soap. I will use it again', housekeeper keep disposing of.
3 out of 5
by Juanita from Brisbane. qld

Average hotel

Posted 01/03/2014
I was on the 2nd floor my room had a large window with a view of a filty run down air conditioning chute of the building next door, very disappointing when you base the view of photos seen prior to booking
2 out of 5
by Reuben from NZ

Great staff, pity about the room.

Posted 26/02/2014
Pros: The staff were so professional, friendly and helpful - one of the best groups I have come across in all my years.
Cons: TLC in the rooms, get rid of the vending machine off each floor and put it in the foyer.
The staff were excellent and the location was excellent. It is a shame the room made for one of the worst hotel stays I have had, I didn't get a good night sleep for several days. Vending machine outside the non-soundproof door that woke me in the night as people got a midnight snack. Bathroom was clean but very very worn out with cracked tiles and damaged toilet seat. The shower water pressure changed and went from cold to hot without changing the hot-cold taps. Air-conditioning unit and fridge made so much noise I had to keep them turned off which was not ideal during the hot weather.