Ratings based on 177 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller from manchester

Good position close to town

Posted 19/09/2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathroom and facility's
Location: Solihull
Bathroom needs overhaul. Towels located in wardrobe not very obvious.considering price not much in way of shower gell soaps,etc in room,good tea facility and nice buffet breakfast
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from South East UK

not good value for money

Posted 18/09/2014
Location: NEC so said 10 to 15' away however on each of the journeys it took at least 40 minutes
stayed for business - checking in and out complicated and messy - had to repeat the requirement to put all expenses for three different rooms onto one bill several times - had to pay £700 instead of just taken a swipe of your card - when my colleagues checked in they had to also leave a swipe of their personal card although the company had already paid - rooms very disappointing for £140 per night - very old - some of the restaurant staff were very hard to communicate with ( although some were very nice food ok) . Check out again very messy and long - won't go back unless i have to.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Average hotel

Posted 31/08/2014
On arrival I gave the room a once over. Room was in a generaly nice condition apart from the dust on the to lampshades by the bed and the lampshade on the table. Clearly they haven't been cleaned for a long period. Also the net curtain had a few rips. The lifts were out of order and I was given a room on the forth floor. Previous reviews stated this so I called before hand to make sure, I was told they were fixed. On check in I was told they would be fixed in a few days. After my 5day stay there was no iminante end to this as the lift looked like the work had just commenced. Walking up and down these stairs all day everyday for 5 days became a bit tiresome especially with a bad back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from England

Unpleasant

Posted 27/08/2014
There was hair in the bath and cobwebs around the bathroom window. The room heater was not blowing hot and none of the staff knew how to sort it. Two additional heaters had to be brought to the room. There was an offer to move us but as it was the last day, didn't see the point.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Nice hotel central to sollihull

Posted 22/07/2014
Pros: Very central. Restaurant very nice. Also bar food good. Nice garden to sit out.
Location: Near sollihull town centre
Had a great time. Central to sollihull. Staff very friendly. Great facilities in the hotel.
2 out of 5
by Brett from London

Misleading

Posted 18/06/2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The rooms need to be refurbished and brought into line with the expections of a modern four star hotel, or rates should be adjusted downwards,
Location: No comment
This hotel is charging prices equivalent to a Marriott or Hiltion brand and has somehow achieved a four star rating. The resteraunt and bar is OK but the room I was allocated was nowhere near four star and was not value for money. The room was tired, very dated and has clearly not been refurbished for several years - yet I paid a premium for a double room. The air conditioning (once activated) was poor and every time I tried to speak to staff they could not hear me because of the telephone - the hotel system which did not work. I resorted to calling the hotel on my mobile to order room service. Clearly the hotel hosts a lot of conferences and training events, but for someone travelling alone on business this is a venue that should be avoided.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Lee from Staffs

Enjoyed the stay

Posted 17/06/2014 on Hotels.com
Very relaxing atmosphere around the hotel and the staff could not have been more friendly. The rooms are a good size and well maintained with everything you would need for a short trip. Highly recommended and excellent value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Central to Solihull Town

Posted 10/06/2014
Pros: Location, 5min walk to central Solihull town. Free parking. Receptionist also allowed us an extra hr to check out (noon)
Cons: The outside look of the building, doesn't look nice!
Location: Great location to town, central
Really nice hotel. Great location. Decent price. Friendly staff & there is a nice gym, swimming pool, sauna & steam room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sonia from San Francisco

Great stay

Posted 09/06/2014 on Hotels.com
I'm surprised this hotel received negative reviews. Our room was recently refurbished so everything looked nice and it was clean. The staff was incredibly kind and helpful. The gym/swimming facilities were great and extremely family friendly which is always helpful when traveling with children. I would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Hoppy from Wales

Nice but ageing

Posted 05/06/2014 on Hotels.com
Nice as always but getting a bit worn. Have been coming here many years, indeed from its Marriott days. Needs a lick of paint and a bit of TLC