Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Average in all ways

Posted 22/11/2014
Pros: Staff friendly and helpful.
Cons: Bed not comfortable, shower should have been cleaner. Décor should have been a bit fresher.
Location: Can walk to town and restaurants in just a couple of minutes. There is a fantastic Thai restaurant there, food excellent and great staff.
Nice hotel in general, but I would have expected a bit more for a 4 star hotel. Room décor needed updating I felt, and bathrooms could have been a bit cleaner. The bed was not very comfortable. Would have been a nice hotel for a 3 star, but disappointing for a 4 star.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Bucks UK

Excellent hotel

Posted 29/10/2014
Helpful staff, comfortable rooms, lovely warm swimming pool, very quiet overnight ... My ideal hotel!
3 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom London

Short stay in the hotel

Posted 08/10/2014
Location: Good location, close to town centre and bus stop.
I have expected higher standard as for 4* hotel. The furniture looked quite old and tired. The bathroom should be cleaner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Cardiff

lovely hotel close to town centre

Posted 29/09/2014
Pros: Everything,the whole experience was fantastic
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to town centre with lots of shops,pubs and restaurants
Beautiful,upstat hotel,friendly staff,very clean and very comfortable indeed.
4 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom manchester

Good position close to town

Posted 19/09/2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathroom and facility's
Location: Solihull
Bathroom needs overhaul. Towels located in wardrobe not very obvious.considering price not much in way of shower gell soaps,etc in room,good tea facility and nice buffet breakfast
2 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom South East UK

not good value for money

Posted 18/09/2014
Location: NEC so said 10 to 15' away however on each of the journeys it took at least 40 minutes
stayed for business - checking in and out complicated and messy - had to repeat the requirement to put all expenses for three different rooms onto one bill several times - had to pay £700 instead of just taken a swipe of your card - when my colleagues checked in they had to also leave a swipe of their personal card although the company had already paid - rooms very disappointing for £140 per night - very old - some of the restaurant staff were very hard to communicate with ( although some were very nice food ok) . Check out again very messy and long - won't go back unless i have to.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Average hotel

Posted 31/08/2014
On arrival I gave the room a once over. Room was in a generaly nice condition apart from the dust on the to lampshades by the bed and the lampshade on the table. Clearly they haven't been cleaned for a long period. Also the net curtain had a few rips. The lifts were out of order and I was given a room on the forth floor. Previous reviews stated this so I called before hand to make sure, I was told they were fixed. On check in I was told they would be fixed in a few days. After my 5day stay there was no iminante end to this as the lift looked like the work had just commenced. Walking up and down these stairs all day everyday for 5 days became a bit tiresome especially with a bad back.
2 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom England

Unpleasant

Posted 27/08/2014
There was hair in the bath and cobwebs around the bathroom window. The room heater was not blowing hot and none of the staff knew how to sort it. Two additional heaters had to be brought to the room. There was an offer to move us but as it was the last day, didn't see the point.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by DaveCfrom Yateley

Fantastic Hotel, comfortable room.

Posted 23/08/2014 on Hotels.com
This was a really comfortable hotel, The Gym was great and a good size swimming pool. The main downside was the TV in my room had two vertical lines running down the screen. I reported the problem, but was not sorted before I left. There are major road works taking place so difficult to get to the M42 in the morning.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveller

Over-rated

Posted 22/08/2014 on Hotels.com
St. John's is at best a 3 star hotel (advertised as 4 star???). It tends to attract a number of functions, particularly weddings - 2 weddings and 1 conference during our 2 nights at the hotel, with disco music until 1 am in the morning. Very reasonably priced and for a 3 star hotel reasonable value.