Ratings based on 556 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Hawera, Taranaki

unexpected pleasure just off Queen Street

Posted 30/01/2015
Pros: The Shower - small but outstanding
Cons: General maintenance. Room a little shabby for a hotel that's relatively new
Location: Handy for Queen Street buses and good access to theatre, cafes in abundance and easy walking
Very nice stay. good heat pump unit, excellent shower (one of the best ever) Corridor and hall a little shabby and tint on mirror in lift peeling away. paint work in the room was a little scuffed in places showing a lack of focussd room maintenance. Reception staff very helpful. Room key was very lose and had to considerably jiggled and worked to click into barrel and open door. Bed firm and comfortable. Sun screen blind in lounge was frayed at edges.
1 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom Christchurch

Perfect location, horrible service.

Posted 29/01/2015
Pros: The location was probably the best part about this hotel.
Cons: The all over service. The pamphlets and information could be updated too, as we didn't receive anything we were promised.
Location: Location was perfect for us, mid/upper queen street. Close to shops, restaurants and cafes.
Once we were in the apartment, we noticed it was incredibly dirty. Many stains around the apartment on the carpet, a shower that hadn't been cleaned in months, hand smears all over the walls, stains and rips on the couches, a dirty stove & hood range and a massive hole in one bedroom wall from somebody slamming the door into it. Before booking the hotel, we were advised that we had access to 1GB of data per day, which was incredibly handy for us. When we arrived, the connection stopped and refused to connect on the second day, saying it had finished. Confusing and disappointing. When doing our washing, we put everything into the dryer and the dryer door was broken. The fridge was warm, even when we turned it up to the coldest setting. The freezer door magnet had broken, too, causing the ice inside to melt everywhere. Inside the apartment folder, it read, "you will be provided with a free continental breakfast which will be restocked each day during house keeping". No continental breakfast in sight. Our apartment seemed to be messier after house keeping had come, with big black hairs found all over the bathroom sink and floor. When checking out, the receptionist went to "check out our room" so we could have our cash bond back. Upon returning, she said, "you've left a hole in the wall in one of the bedrooms". This was incredibly rude and frustrating, and after I mentioned every else which was wrong with the apartment, she quickly shut me up and gave me the cash bond back.
2 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom Sydney

no title

Posted 28/01/2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: room hygiene,parking facilities,mattress protectors,
Location: you need a car to get around.
I regret staying at this apartment block.Dirty mattress protectors or none on the mattresses. One has to pay 25$ per day for parking.Quite a distance to walk to get to Auckland wharf. The room carpet had plenty of stains on them.Overpriced compared to other well known hotels in the area.If one has a car,you need to find street parking,which is difficult to find.I did not enjoy my stay there at all.
1 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom wellington

Long weekend stay.

Posted 25/01/2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Redecorate the room and keep it properly cleaned and maintained.
After staying at this establishment 3 years ago and having an excellent experience I didn't think I could go too far wrong.....big mistake. The furniture and fixtures were rusty, stained, broken and run down. But worse it was dirty and we awoke each morning with fresh insect bites despite having all the windows closed. Frankly this once excellent hotel has not been cared for and should be avoided at all costs.
2 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom Australia

Regrettably disappointing.

Posted 24/01/2015
Pros: The sheets were white and crisp, the beds King size. The onsite car park.
Cons: So much, repair damages instead of setting up guests to find them and supposedly report them in case they incur the charges.
Location: Aotea Square, Movies, Shopping, Eateries, Queen Street busking and people watching.
Run down and damaged and left as it is. It seems to be in its final days of being run down. Damages to cupboards and beds were covered up by being placed back for cosmetic reasons and discovered by guests on use, example draw door opened but was already unhinged. Cup had a crack which leaked tea once poured out. Shower curtain wasn't washed. The requested bed configuration was not passed on. A further request for a topper mattress to the morning receptionist; I was asked to convey the message to the afternoon staff. The young and pleasant gentlemen who had been there since early morning 8am, (as we stayed two nights) had to come to do these changes at 9pm that evening. He was very apologetic. The carpet was badly stained. There was no milk on arrival, tea towels or dish clothes and no Sky Tv.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

DIRTY NEEDS UPDATING

Posted 24/01/2015
Pros: LOCATION TO CITY
Cons: CLEANLINESS, HELP OF STAFF. REPAIRS TO ROOMS, FANS
Location: CITY CENTRE
DIRTY NEEDS UPDATING. TOOK 3 ROOM CHANGES FROM CHECK IN
1 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom New Zealand

Location is all it has going for it

Posted 13/01/2015
Pros: Closeness to Queen Street
Cons: A lot of improvements needed. Cleaning is a must people!
Location: Close to Queen street so easy to walk to shops
The room was okay at first glance but then you look around and the walls had marks in all rooms. Marks on the toilet! Bugs in the kitchen, stained carpet and when we striped the bed back there were stains on the mattress protectors. It was gross. Hotel staff were unhelpful and difficult to understand and the charges for parking were huge. Could of used that money to stay somewhere much nicer and preferably with air-con and ventilation.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller

TERRIBLE in capital letters

Posted 13/01/2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Replace carpet. Put double or queen bed in double room instead of twin so a person can at least move around and CLEAN THE ROOM
It was possibly my worst hotel experience ever and I have been travelling for over 34 years. The images on the web should be classed as false advertising because the reality is so far removed. The carpet in the room was old and filthy and to make it worse, they had not even bothered vacuuming it. I know I am a picky clean person but my 17 year old who easily observes the 3 second rule could not bear to touch anything because it all looked so disgusting. The balcony was as dirty. The rooms were so small there was barely any space to move around and this continued to the bathroom. The shower was so small that even as a small person I could barely turn around. I have never in my entire life ever written to complain about anything but feel that I just have to let people know. The staff did offer to move us but we declined.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom PB

Coulda been better, handy to town/Queen street

Posted 10/01/2015
Have stayed on a higher level b4 and loved it but ground floor in the room we got this time had a bad spell not sure y but was awful specially while pregnant. Bathroom wasn't the cleanest but. Shen booking I wish they'd tell u whar floor ud be on. Parking is confusing! Overall cheap room did the job .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom wellington nz

tidy hotel close to cbd and transport

Posted 09/01/2015
We were surprised that the room looked just like the photos. Comfortable room and clean.We would stay again and tell others about hotel. Good spot for people who like to walk close to K road and ponsonby. Lots of little cheap food places around. You could leave bags in luggage room but not locked.